DEV Community

Adam Crockett πŸŒ€
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

Posted on • Updated on

What to release and when?

I have a classic mono repo with some packages, I work on a given branch as a whole repository. Each time a feature or bug is worked on. The main repository is versionless because it is not actually a piece of software, it is instead an organization of source code. All distributed code atually originates from a compiled language and is output into it's respective git sub module, the outcome is a distribution of each package in its own separate distribution repository.

When I ceckout branch #64-feature-on-package-x
I bumb the version of the package or packages I have worked on.

Here's where things get tricky in my head. Do I then release this package by heading over to master and hitting publishing to npm? Because my packages are designed to work independently, for example a cli calls a library but the library can be called with a custom front end. I would imagine the library should be released first then the cli.

The result may be internally we have a nice incremtial versioning on each package but thr dist code skipping minor versions and never being released, is this okay?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
ssimontis profile image
Scott Simontis

Send it!

Would you be willing to link? I'd be curious to see what you have created.

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€