DEV Community

Cover image for Didi - Help me choose a logo
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

Posted on

Didi - Help me choose a logo

I am working on a project related to deno called didi, you can use it for frontend and deno.
I have created 2 logos and I would love your opinion on which you prefer, the project is for the community after all?

Afterwards I will have this horrid feeling that I could be sued?

Edit: Deno approved πŸ₯³
Deno aproves logo

See the comments for both choices.

Top comments (22)

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€ • Edited

didi-2

Collapse
 
kailyons profile image
Loralighte

This is a great logo, I wanna see this one used!

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

Well the repo looks awesome right now so I think we may have a winner.

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

Im screaming like a little girl right now!

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€ • Edited

didi-1

Collapse
 
kewbish profile image
Emilie Ma

I like this one more, but both are amazing!

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

TY, just a dev who used to do art.

Collapse
 
muhimen123 profile image
Muhimen

This one looks a bit more C U T E.

Maybe for the wings.

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

Must be the egg shell, little sister as you know.

Collapse
 
geongeorge profile image
Geon George • Edited

Happy you choose the name Didi :)

personal opinion: both the logos don't look that great to me

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€ • Edited

Not into dinosaurs? Or is something else up with it? You are the first to openly dislike it but haven't said why. πŸ¦– I can improve with feedback.

Collapse
 
geongeorge profile image
Geon George • Edited

Yeah sorry, I forgot to mention the reason.
I was supposed to add that in as a reply and something else came up.

Bear in mind this is just my personal opinion.

I like the general idea of this and the play on Deno's logo

I feel both logos have this element of unnecessariness to it.

I'm not an artist so I cannot put this into words properly.
It might be because they feel slightly "not minimal"

I roughly edited your first logo and see if you get what I mean
(here I felt like the inner line in the wings were not in par with the general silhouette idea)

What some random person on the internet thinks about the logo doesn't matter. Go ahead and make you thing :)

edit: I did not add the long head in the first commented image

Thread Thread
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

Don't downplay yourself because I actually agree with you, I added the line because I worried the wing might not come across but perhaps it does like this, what does everyone else think?

Thread Thread
 
geongeorge profile image
Geon George • Edited

It's very hard to decide. I get you.
beauty is subjective and people have a different opinions.
Just go with whatever you feel like for now.
improve the logo as the project improves

Collapse
 
muhimen123 profile image
Muhimen

What does didi mean? In my language it translates to sister.

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€ • Edited

Didi and Deno (sisters) because Didi is (hopefully) the mascot for my project.

The naming situation at the moment is confusing, I started the project calling it Unpack but I realised that maybe Didi was a better name because the point is I want to help Deno comunity to take old node modules and use them.
My project has more in common with Deno by moving away from node.js, it takes node modules and sort of kind of bundles them to ES_Modules. meaning that any library designed for webpack or node, can be translated to be used without a bundler in accordance with JavaScript official specification, Deno and Browser code can both use my transpiler.

Collapse
 
theinfinitywritings profile image
Shivanand

Yeah.. here too πŸ˜‚ Sister

Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

It's great you got permission from Deno, although not at all copied IMO its a kind gesture from your part :)

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

We all owe Ryan Dahl so much, so it was a bit of a hello, didi is a thing type issue, it was only fair that if we create a platform that could ride that wave of deno, didi should be synonymous with deno one day. So long as deno continues to heat up, if deno succeeds it's likely to drive traffic to didi. That's the theory anyways, then we can throw the webpack / snowpack style tooling in there and basically run the new modern web. ... dream big I guess.

Collapse
 
pandaquests profile image
Panda Quests

Maybe a dinosaur egg?

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

It crossed my mind. The second design was egg shell.

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€ • Edited

Here is the project if interested, I am soon to rename.

GitHub logo adam-cyclones / didi

Convert a project from common JS to ESmodules, with included bundler-like / task runner behaviour.

didi

A bundleless bundler for JavaScript and Typescript which unpacks common.js modules into distinct ESmodules.

Who uses Didi?

Frontend developers and Deno developers.

TODO:

  • setup this repo for contribution
  • create some issues
  • addreess all 'What doesnt work'
  • Make a cool video, (can do this now as the thing works enough to demonstrate the concept)
  • docs and website?
  • Branding for Unpack!

How it works:

  • TSC successfully converts all common.js to ESmodule format, js and ts should be supported but not tested both - just JavaScript.
  • A boilerplat project is output based on your input.
  • minimal gluecode is emited but needed for browsers that dont support import maps, the positive is that ESM is then supported in browsers that are to old to support this, that includes dynamic import calls!
  • A devserver is provided to test your sources.
  • a devbrowser (headless browser). is used to prune all deps that where not actually…