DEV Community

Adam Lombard
Adam Lombard

Posted on • Updated on

How do you stay well-informed as a developer?

Earlier today, @rrampage posted a great question about good chat channels for developers.

In a similar vein, I've been wondering: How does one stay well-informed as a dev?

Personally, I think I'm bad at this. I waste a lot of time dealing with firehoses of sub-par or tangential information—DEV.to being the notable exception, of course. 😉

  1. What are some of your favorite resources for staying informed?
    • Any medium (blog, newsletter, etc.) on any topic.
  2. What tools or techniques do you use to efficiently manage these resources?

Was this helpful? Did I save you some time?

🫖 Buy Me A Tea! ☕️


Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him) • Edited

Big fan of Cooperpress newsletters. I've been following them as a beginner, when I knew nothing about what anyone was talking about in their posts, and it's really helped me be comfortable with programming terms or ideas. Also, they are definitely up to date with their programming news.

I personally follow Front End Focus, Ruby Weekly, JS Weekly, and DB Weekly since I'm a web dev.

Collapse
 
adamlombard profile image
Adam Lombard

Thanks, @andy !

This is exactly the sort of thing I was looking for. 👍