DEV Community

Cover image for Hacktoberfest23: The 5th Year Contributor
Ayu Adiati
Ayu Adiati

Posted on • Updated on

Hacktoberfest23: The 5th Year Contributor

Hi friends! ๐Ÿ‘‹

I'm Ayu, a tech blogger, front-end developer, and open source and tech community enthusiast based in the Netherlands.

This is the 5th year I'm participating in Hacktoberfest as a contributor.

adiati98 (Ayu Adiati) ยท GitHub

๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ’ป Software Engineer || โœ๐Ÿผ Tech Blogger || ๐Ÿ’™ Open Source and Tech Community Enthusiast - adiati98

favicon github.com

The Highs

One of my Hacktoberfest 2023 pledges is to have one accepted PR.

But... I completed the Hacktoberfest on October 10th! ๐ŸŽ‰

celebration GIF

List of accepted PRs

  1. Update monthly challenge page to Hacktoberfest โ€” Virtual Coffee
  2. Add Comment Out to Issue Templates โ€” SheSharp
  3. Fix Format of the type of PR โ€” SheSharp
  4. Update content in October challenge page โ€” Virtual Coffee
  5. Update content in "What is Hacktoberfest" section at Hacktoberfest Initiative website โ€” Virtual Coffee
  6. Add October 2023 Newsletter โ€” Virtual Coffee
  7. Update Ayu's profile for Hacktoberfest 2023 โ€” Virtual Coffee
  8. Fix broken link to a resource on Hacktoberfest Initiative website โ€” Virtual Coffee
  9. Add a pull request template โ€” SheSharp
  10. Update README and Transcriptions Guideline โ€” Virtual Coffee

And I still have one PR with the "waiting" status. ๐Ÿ˜„

This is not the end of my Hacktoberfest 2023 journey. If, along the way, I could contribute more, I would.

But this year, besides contributing, I became a first-time maintainer for open-source projects in several tech communities while supporting beginners.

The Lows

I want to learn to read, understand a codebase, and contribute to a code-related issue. So, I took an issue to fix some styling with Tailwind in a NextJS project.

I definitely need more practice to read a codebase and to know where to look to fix an issue. I still need to work on this. I'm still busy with this particular issue, so it might be done after the event. Even so, I won't give up on this unless the maintainer tells me otherwise. ๐Ÿ™Œ

Growth

Even though it's very challenging, I should give myself a pat on my back for finally getting the courage to take a coding-related issue and learn to understand a big codebase! ๐Ÿ’ช

One of my passions is documentation. Through these contributions, I learned much more to see documentation in more detail.

Career-wise, finding a job as a front-end developer is quite challenging.

I always know that helping and supporting other developers through writing or mentoring is my happy place. That's the reason why I'm pursuing a developer relations, tech community management, or a technical writer role as a career.

But with some coding skills under my belt and eyes for details, I'm also considering learning about testing to pursue a QA tester/engineer career. I'm crossing my fingers and wishing to land a tech job soon! โœจ

An image of @adiati981's Holopin badges, which is a link to view their full Holopin profile

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
sreeharshrajan profile image
Sreeharsh K

Congratulations to you! That's a great achievement. ๐Ÿ‘
I still wonder how to begin with hacktober fest, even with a few years of experience in this feild.

Collapse
 
adiatiayu profile image
Ayu Adiati

Thank you! ๐Ÿ˜„
Maybe you can start with what kind of contribution that you want to do. Think also about which stacks. etc. You can search these on GitHub.

And here is a list of repositories that are participating in Hacktoberfest.

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt โ˜•

Congraaats ๐Ÿฅณ๐ŸŽ‰

Collapse
 
adiatiayu profile image
Ayu Adiati

Thank you, Thomas!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜„

Collapse
 
bekahhw profile image
BekahHW

Great job, Ayu! Youโ€™ve helped so many people this year as well!!

Collapse
 
adiatiayu profile image
Ayu Adiati

Thank you so much, @bekahhw! ๐Ÿ’–