DEV Community

Cover image for Learning to Code : Roadmap. ( Tip for beginners)
Aditya Pandey
Aditya Pandey

Posted on

Learning to Code : Roadmap. ( Tip for beginners)

I put out this tweet on twitter yesterday


and I got asked from someone :

Can you please share the roadmap to start with..

And, I replied to that person in a series of tweets.
Then, I thought I could turn those tweets into an article and it might help more people. (What better place than #DEV).

So, here it is:

  1. )

    So, the First thing I recommend to anyone starting out is to watch this CS50 video.

    It will help you get excited about computer science in general.
    Don't get overwhelmed with the content, just try to get the gist out of it.

  2. )

    Next thing, I recommend is learning HTML and CSS. (I may be a bit biased XD)
    They are easy to start with and you see your learning being applied very early.
    So, it keeps you motivated.

  3. )

    Now, onto resources to learn these.
    First, watch this video (Web Development lecture of CS50)

    Don't worry if you do not get everything mentioned in the video, just try to get hang of the syntax and it will help you when learning further.

  4. )

    Now, you can head over to:
    Freecodecamp
    This is avery good resource for learning web development and it has played a major role in me being able to learn web development. So, what freecodecamp does is it provides you with an introduction in the beginning (very short) and then you jump into their online editor and solve challenges. So, you can see your learning being applied.

  5. )

    If you have trouble with any of the challenges, you can ask for help on the forum of freecodecamp or any other platform and there are people more than willing to help you.
    Remember, Google has to be your best friend from now on.

Some Other Tips from top of my head:

  • Don't get overwhelmed.
  • Reach Out to people, most of them will be nice to you. Don't get discouraged if some of them are mean to you.
  • Practice, Practice, and Practice.
  • Get your hands dirty, don't fall into tutorial hell (watching random tutorials on youtube).
  • Learn to love frustrations cause there'll be many instances you wouldn't be able to solve a problem for days, so persistence is required.
  • "Don't Panic" - Douglas Adams.
  • Finally, Don't Give up. You can do it. :)

Remember, this is all from my personal experience and may not work for some people and I am also not that experienced in programming, so feel free to reach out to more experienced and your domain-specific people on different platforms to get a more robust plan. For now, this is all I got. :)

For further help or conversation or just to connect, feel free to reach out to me on Twitter, LinkedIn and Github

I Will request Senior Developers to recommend additions that they think should be made here and will edit the post accordingly.

Happy Coding !!!

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
emmadevhq profile image
Emmanuel Priestley

I also recommend Udemy and Appberry

Collapse
 
adityapandey profile image
Aditya Pandey • Edited

Is it Appbrewery or appberry?
It would be great if you could post a link to it?
Also, I have recommended only free resources, cause I believe there are plenty of free resources on internet to learn to code.
So, it would be great, which specific courses you recommend from udemm ir appberry if possible?

Collapse
 
emmadevhq profile image
Emmanuel Priestley

oh sorry, typography error it appbrewery.co/

Thread Thread
 
adityapandey profile image
Aditya Pandey

Thanks :)