DEV Community

Cover image for What motivated me to start working on a secure container?
Alex
Alex

Posted on

What motivated me to start working on a secure container?

One of the user stories:

I'm on a trip, far from home, and I accidentally drop my phone in a mountain river. A tiny kiosk at the foot of a mountain is all civilization for dozens of miles around.

After the trip, I promised to stop by my university friend who lived in a nearby village. But his phone number had become unavailable to me. 😧

At the kiosk, a friendly guy 🤠, gives me his phone, with which I go to my public static page on Github, and open a secure container, which, among other things, stores my friend's phone number. I enter my username and password and write down my friend's address and phone number.

All the while, the guy who owns the computer is staring curiously at the screen...

In the container, besides my friend's phone, are all my family members' social media passwords, all our credit card numbers, passwords for bank accounts and cloud services my business uses.

Am I out of my mind? Consider it so! 🤪
Try the examples on the project site to see why all my secrets are safe.

I keep all my secrets in one file, copying that file to public services and giving it out to friends to increase the reliability of the storage.

But all the smiling guy at the kiosk could get, even with a man-in-the-middle (MITM) and a keylogger, is a few of my university friends' phones...

Is that a bad thing? Of course it is! 🙀

The story is fictional; all coincidences are coincidental. 😂

P.S. Smiling guy, thanks for your help! 🤠

GitHub logo griffin-container / griffin

Read-only 100% offline secure multi-user container in a single HTML file that requires no external software to extract secrets


G R I F F I N

SECURE CONTAINERS FOR HUMANS & ROBOTS


Read-only 100% offline secure multi-user container in a single HTML file that requires no external software to extract secrets.

Neither usernames, nor credentials, nor hashes are stored in the container, saved by the browser, or transmitted over the network.


Download a brand new empty container

  1. Go to the latest version

  2. Click the Download button (top-right corner)


Create your first container

  1. Go to menu (top-left corner) and choose:
    Create container from source…

  2. Use hello-world.xml container source
    to create hello-world.html container

  3. Explore public, private and shared resources
    username: alice, password: rabbit
    username: bob , password: dog

That's it!

GET MORE_

  • Programmatic access…
  • Digital signatures…
  • XOR masks, Shamir's secret sharing etc…
More examples…



Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
fabiancdng profile image
Fabian Reinders

Love your writing style! Awesome and creative way to introduce your project 😂👏

Collapse
 
alexpgmr profile image
Alex

Thanks!

Collapse
 
alexpgmr profile image
Alex

I'd love your feedback 😺