DEV Community

Cover image for Starting over again...
Andressa
Andressa

Posted on

Starting over again...

I never had a blog before, thought it would be a perfect occasion for a first time.

Even thought I don't know where it will get, my intension is to take a look back in a couple of years and see where I was when I decided to start over.

A brief introduction would be very welcomed.

My name is Andressa, 30yo, Brazilian. Decided to start a new career in tech when I was 27. Long story short, hated my career at the time and wanted to do something that could make me excited and proud. Existential crises? maybe πŸ‘€

I got to college again, thought I could not make it, but I made it and I am going to my convocation ceremony in 10 days from now [Jun 15, 2022] πŸ‘©πŸ»β€πŸŽ“πŸ₯³

and why have I decided to name my first post here as "Starting over again"?

Well, giving a brief overview... I got my first full-time development job in a big company. At that time, I could not even put in words how delightful I was. Could not be happier. I was so proud of myself! my family and I were celebrating all the time. I was literally thinking I could do everything, but I couldn't. Things were way different than what I was told, and from what I was expecting.

I started to feel devastated. And here I want to emphasize that I was feeling terrible. I am still felling terrible. Was not on my plans to quit, but I decided to quit. I decided to quit because I knew I could do better. I always wanted to be productive and grow as a developer, and my decision was based on that.

oh boy, I am starting again. Looking for a new full-time development job. Starting again to search companies I want to work for, starting again to write resumes and cover letters, starting again to wait for responses to positions I have applied for, starting again to have those moments of felling I am not good enough. That is scary AF, but Andressa, you got this.

You had your downs, but you were always determined and always got where you decided to get. You are about to find a job you will love and a job you will proudly say "oh yeah, I work there! 😎". I trust you. Your family trusts you. We know everything is gonna be just fine.

Finally, I am starting this blog to document the process of reviewing coding concepts I find important to have well grounded, and also sharing my progress through this journey again.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Good luck you can do it!

Collapse
 
andressa profile image
Andressa

hey Andrew! Thank youuu

Collapse
 
makothecoder profile image
makothecoder

This blog was especially relatable for me because I am also learning web dev again I was thinking the same as you but then when I knew that wasn't enough, I was sad but I had to accept the truth and start over again.