DEV Community

Angela Whisnant
Angela Whisnant

Posted on

What is Your Favorite Text Editor?

What is your goto text editor and why?

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
karlredman profile image
Karl N. Redman • Edited

Vim for everything. It's what works best for me.

With that said I would like to say that I was an Emacs person for 10 years also. I've worked with Eclipse, VS, VSCode, Sublime, and many others. Each editor I've used over the years has been a pain at some point of another. Every editor I've ever used required me to perform some kind of custom setup in some way -requiring hours upon hours of extra work to save myself a few seconds here and there from time to time.

I'm not going to try to sell you on Vim. I'm only saying that it works best for me as a baseline for content; where I will often use 'something else' for presentation (if needed). lol, even this comment was written in a vim js implementation I use from chrome's surfingkeys extension :D

Collapse
 
angelarae63 profile image
Angela Whisnant

Thanks! I’ll check it out!

Collapse
 
sapien profile image
Prateek Thapa

VSCode.

Collapse
 
scottishross profile image
Ross Henderson

Brackets.

Collapse
 
angelarae63 profile image
Angela Whisnant

I need to check out this one!

Collapse
 
scottishross profile image
Ross Henderson

I find it useful for formatting SQL for documentation and it's my go-to for any HTML/CSS stuff. Simply because of the live viewer. It may not be as feature heavy as others, but I find it simple, fast and useful :)

Collapse
 
rizzu26 profile image
Rizwan

vs code mostly and VIM somtime

Collapse
 
stojakovic99 profile image
Nikola Stojaković • Edited

vim for quick edits and VS Code for almost everything else.

Collapse
 
valenc3x profile image
Ricardo Valencia

VScode, but SublimeText has a place in my heart bc I used it all throughout college

Collapse
 
angelarae63 profile image
Angela Whisnant

Yes! I’ve been using sublime up until today. Just downloaded VScode and trying it for the first time. I like that I can use a lighter background theme. Dark themes are harder on my eyes.

Collapse
 
theoriginalbpc profile image
Sarah Dye

Right now I'm using Atom but now this post is making me want to check out VSCode.

Collapse
 
angelarae63 profile image
Angela Whisnant

Used VScode today and I like that there are shortcuts for code. I can type div.container.text-center and when I hit enter, it’s written in html (bootstrap 4). Cool!