DEV Community

Cover image for 🥴💭Don’t be afraid to ask or to admit that you need help
Maria Antonella 🦋
Maria Antonella 🦋

Posted on

🥴💭Don’t be afraid to ask or to admit that you need help

Help, I need somebody! .... The Beatles would say.

Today I am writing this post from an experience that happened to me last week. I was working on my current project when it came up that there was a very important functionality, which had a bug. A bug that had to be fixed as soon as possible.

A bug that took me about one week to fix.🥴

But my goal today is to talk about the fear we feel about asking when we don't know something or don't know how to move forward.

😵🌳 When we were kids, we were planted the seed that it's not okay to ask. We learned that if we ask, we'll get a finger pointed at us like we have a big "I'm a fool" in the face. But that's not true.

When I was younger, so much younger than today
I never needed anybody's help in any way
But now these days are gone, I'm not so self assured
Now I find I've changed my mind and opened up the doors
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Learning is an continuos process.

It never ends. Even more so in the field of computer science. New tools, frameworks and languages emerge every day. We learn every day, with small steps, small changes. 🧐 So we have no obligation to know everything. But we can take responsibility for our actions. 🤗

💡 Someone once told me that there are no dumb questions, but there are fools who don't ask.💡 So true!

So here I was, in the middle of my frustrated and stressed work week. So I decided to ask for help.

Think of it this way: we're here at Dev.to to ask and learn. To be better. And that's great. So why not do it at work too?

Not to be told how to do it. I looked for solutions, possible ways forward and asked if I was on the right path. I asked the questions I felt were necessary to understand the context in which I was working.

I think the most important thing is that I told myself was I could. I could solve this. Whatever it cost me. 💪💪

When you find yourself saying: I don't know , make sure follow it with but I will find it.

As I read in the pages of the book The Pragmatic Programmer:

It's a great way to admit what you don't know but then take responsibility like a pro.

🧐 And taking responsibility means that many times you're going to have to ask for help. So to solve my big problem, I asked for help, and that's fine. And it's part of being a good professional, being a programmer. It helps us grow. Personally and professionally.🤗❗❗

I always say that we always learn from others. So let's not be afraid to ask when we don't know something. Because we will learn it. A lot!

Help me if you can, I'm feeling down
And I do appreciate you being round
Help me, get my feet back on the ground
Won't you please, please help me?
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
prisny02 profile image
นี่ด็อกซอนไง

I am also struggle with this issue for a long time. Now is better... but still. Asking for help is one of a must things for professional. And today I hear a very wise words from my colleague, he said " it's free to ask " and i am like... yeah....

Collapse
 
vtsen profile image
Vincent Tsen

Very well said. The thing is sometimes when you find the answer yourself, you tend to learn more. So I think it may be better to do a bit research first before you ask. This way could probably make your question sharper and get your answer faster! :)

Collapse
 
maddy profile image
Maddy

You're right that we shouldn't be afraid of asking for help. I'm more afraid of asking for help to a senior engineer and then find out that it was something so simple, I feel sorry for the time that I took from them. 😢