DEV Community

Anul Agarwal
Anul Agarwal

Posted on

I built a game using ChatGPT in 2 weeks that made $10,000

I used ChatGPT to make the famous Watermelon Game, in less than 2 weeks, which earned ~$10,000 over web platforms and through organic mobile players!

Image description

ChatGPT
I use ChatGPT a lot to write gameplay mechanic code for my games. It is the best tool to delegate complex mathematical problems that are sometimes needed while coding games.

For the Watermelon Game, I used ChatGPT to:

πŸ‘¨πŸ»β€πŸ’»Write gameplay code

Image description

🌟 Controlling the dropper,
🌟 Dropping of fruits,
🌟 Merging the fruits to evolve into bigger fruits,
🌟 Win/Lose condition!

🎨 Generate the 2D fruit assets of the game

Image description

🌟 I asked ChatGPT (DALL-E) to generate some 2D images for the fruits in Kawaii style!

Then I imported these into an online PhotoShop tool (Photopea.com), to clean out the background and use them in Unity!

It took me 1 week to get the gameplay right and another week to polish the game!

Then all I had to do was reach out to various web-platforms to publish the game πŸ™

Earnings (Web-Platforms)
Once the game was ready, I reached out to various web-game platforms. These platforms have a loyal player base that keep coming back to search for fresh and new games.

The most common way to monetize on these platforms is to show Normal ads and Rewarded ads.

I earned from the following sources:

βœ… GameDistribution (ad-revenue) ($1,500)

Image description

βœ… Coolmath Games (license fee) ($2,500)

βœ… Rainmaker Games (special one-time request for their web3 startup) (license fee) ($3,000)

βœ… Publisher competition (SuperSonic) (one-time fee) ($300)

βœ… Mobile organic installs (My previous app got banned!) (ad-revenue) ($2300)

Distributing games to web-portals is one of the easiest ways to generate revenue from your games!

Watch the video
To explain better the revenue from each source, I have created a YouTube video (~8.5 minutes):

https://youtu.be/jiSFsdyRgzA

In the video, I cover:
🌟 Generated 2D assets using ChatGPT.
🌟 Writing gameplay code using ChatGPT.
🌟 Different web game platforms where I distributed the game.
🌟 Earnings from the web game portals.
🌟 A list of a few web game portals where you can upload the games.

If you found the video useful, do subscribe as this is my first YouTube video πŸ™

I plan to do more of these in the future, if you have any questions related to making games β€” leave your questions in the comments!

Until next time,
Anul

β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€” β€”

I invest a lot of time to research and edit my articles. To show support, you can follow me or subscribe to my newsletter!

You can connect with me on LinkedIn where I talk about gen-AI tools and game industry trends.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
stokry profile image
Stokry

Really nice, thank you for sharing!

Collapse
 
anulagarwal12 profile image
Anul Agarwal

I am glad you liked it!

Collapse
 
foxx101 profile image
Sabir Foux

Congratulations on your journey and getting your game published and in front of players! $10k is a phenomenal result thanks your to creativity to publish to the platforms you used. You’ve inspired me to create my own game!

Collapse
 
anulagarwal12 profile image
Anul Agarwal

Thank you for your words!
Please do share with me when you create your games!

Collapse
 
wagneralbers profile image
WAGNER DE BRITO ALBERS

Congratulations. Thank you for sharing this knowledge.