DEV Community

Ari Kalfus
Ari Kalfus

Posted on • Updated on

Why Quasar? Why Nuxt? Why Vue?

I'm fresh from learning how Vue works and building some small and moderate-sized things with Vue. Do I want to use Nuxt or Quasar on new projects? Do I want to stick with 'just' Vue? Why should I use one or the other? Obviously 'should' is subjective and which framework likely depends on the project. What are the project considerations that influence you toward one of these?

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
fmctaggart profile image
Fraser McTaggart

I've used all three. They are all based around Vue, which i started with to learn the framework. I quickly moved to try quasar to get benefits of server side rendering. Quasar is the full package, where CSS etc is determined for you. Components are premade and you can hack them together to create a very polished result with little effort. I eventually settled with Nuxt, as I like the folder structure and router. I also like how there is freedom to use a CSS framework of my choosing while still getting the benefits of SSR and static site generation. It ultimately depends on why you are using a js framework. What are you are looking to achieve and how much freedom do you want while doing it?! Just give them all a try.

Collapse
 
artis3n profile image
Ari Kalfus • Edited

Ah, you have no option but to use Quasar's CSS classes? So you write your own CSS/SCSS/whatever on top of it but can't pull in vuetify / bootstrap / tailwind?

Collapse
 
fmctaggart profile image
Fraser McTaggart

You could import another CSS framework, however then you would be losing a big chunk of the functionality of Quasar. They are single file components as per usual, so you can easily add your own CSS classes.
Unless you are using the premade components or creating a mobile, or electron app, then it probably isn't the right solution in my opinion.

Thread Thread
 
artis3n profile image
Ari Kalfus

That's helpful, thanks!

Collapse
 
psnehanshu profile image
Snehanshu Phukon

You can definitely stick with just Vue.js, you will be fully capable of building all kinds of stuff, hell yeah! you can even stick with vanilla, and still, build everything. But did you notice the productivity jump you achieved while you moved from vanilla to Vue (or React)? There's something similar waiting for you when you start using quasar, or nuxt etc.

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt • Edited

I haven't really tried Quasar.

I feel like Vue is the most stable, and if I do Electron, I might use Vue.

For a multi-page app, including static site generation, which is centered around content, I would consider Nuxt -- it is stable enough.

If the web is centered around functionality, I might use Vue, and use simply Vue Router.

Collapse
 
ialuronico profile image
Simone Romano 💭

Any update on this in 2023.

I am using Quasar a bit and I like its components. Though I would also like to use SSR in Nuxt.

Does this project look promising or I am going to get lost into the rabbit hole?

github.com/Maiquu/nuxt-quasar

Collapse
 
thais95 profile image
Thaís Araujo

Hey! I know it's been a while since this reply, but can you tell me if there's a way to use Nuxt with Quasar and still be able to use SSG? Or quasar would get in the way of that and I should use Nuxt with another component framework for SSG? Thanks!

Collapse
 
ialuronico profile image
Simone Romano 💭

Hi. I ended up using just Nuxt because I found there were more ready templates online. Also, my template was using Tailwind. At some point I was trying to add Quasar and it was complicated.