DEV Community

Cover image for DEV Conference?
Andrew (he/him)
Andrew (he/him)

Posted on

DEV Conference?

I was thinking about this today and I would love to meet my fellow #DEVcommunity members in person! Are there any plans for a DEV conference in NYC or elsewhere? I would be super excited to learn from you all irl (and maybe give a talk myself 😏).

Photo by Edwin Andrade on Unsplash

Top comments (17)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

As @helenanders26 mentioned, we are about to have our first community-led meetup, so we do want to empower folks to get together. We will have more details tomorrow about how others can do this.

With regards to the conference, as of this moment we do not have a DEV conference planned—but I'd be shocked if we didn't make at least one of these happen in 2020. It would be awesome.

Collapse
 
rsolomonjr profile image
Rodney Solomon

Hi @ben , what is the planned frequency of these meetups?

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

It will be entirely up to the organizers. Weekly, monthly, quarterly, whatever.

Thread Thread
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

We will expect some consistency and we’ll be in touch with organizers to get this right.

Collapse
 
yechielk profile image
Yechiel Kalmenson

It's funny, I had the same idea a few days ago and was long forward to bouncing it off you @ben at the meetup tomorrow 😂

Collapse
 
awwsmm profile image
Andrew (he/him)

Collapse
 
vgrovestine profile image
Vincent Grovestine

Virtual?

...For the benefit of those unable to travel (and/or whose employers are //cough// cheap //cough//). :)

Collapse
 
helenanders26 profile image
Helen Anderson

There’s a Meetup happening in NYC very soon, organised by Dev.to members:

nycirldev.splashthat.com/

Collapse
 
zhaluza profile image
Zac Haluza

Thanks for the link, just RSVP'd!

Really psyched to meet some new people and soak everything in. I also just finished my first original Vanilla JS site/app yesterday, and I'd love to get some feedback!

Collapse
 
natonathan profile image
Nathan Tamez

I think a global DEV meet-up Day/ Hackthorn should happen, where local organisers setup a local meet-up/Hackthorn in their city. I know I would be interested in giving a helping hand, and believe others are as welll.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

That would be awesome.

Collapse
 
natonathan profile image
Nathan Tamez

I think my city, Portsmouth, UK, is a perfect city for this to happen. Also there are a number of small and large software and technology companies nearby. Could even get my uni involved, they love supporting events that connect students with industry.

Collapse
 
david_j_eddy profile image
David J Eddy

I am ALL for this. Florida in the spring is convention / conference season. #hinthint

Collapse
 
omrisama profile image
Omri Gabay

Yeah I'm down to meetup with people in LA

Collapse
 
msamgan profile image
Mohammed Samgan Khan

Is any plan for the conference in Dubai, UAE.

Collapse
 
sarahjanemorris profile image
Sarah-Jane Morris

I'd so be there, AND I'd love to help organize it!

Collapse
 
_hs_ profile image
HS

Would be nice to have that. For us from Europe especially from less known countries like Bosnia & Herzegovina this is fun to watch on YouTube :D as it's hard to plan trip that far.