DEV Community

Batuhan
Batuhan

Posted on

I Built My Personal Website

It's been a fairly long time since i posted here. I was working on my website for about 2 days. In this short journey i learned some new things. The most important thing is that this work made me more confident of my skills as a junior developer and i feel happier for what i have achieved. If you started to struggle like - did i learn enough to apply for a job or can i make more styled things etc. you really really must give a try to make a website for yourself. Because it is your portfolio and you try nearly your best to make a good impression. Eventough if you are stressed or not in a good hype to start something new, you find yourself trying hard and enjoying by the time you build it. Long story short www.batuhangulgor.dev is my website and these are the stats i got as you can see below.

Alt Text

I do look forward to get your comments about the site <3

May the bugs not be with you.

Top comments (17)

Collapse
 
sroehrl profile image
neoan

A little off-topic, but wanted to let you know:

Psychologically speaking, you don't want the trash icon to be the first thing the reader sees on your resume PDF.

About the site: I think it's innovative and nice. Visually appealing without being too playful or overloaded.

I am a little surprised it scores so high. My render process was relatively slow. But that could be caused by the location of your hosting provider.

Collapse
 
b4two profile image
Batuhan

thanks for the comment. Can i see the stats u got from lighthouse

Collapse
 
sroehrl profile image
neoan

Update: overall I got 87 for mobile and 98 for desktop for your site

Collapse
 
sroehrl profile image
neoan

I didn't test your site, it was just an impression when loading it in my browser. However, I'll gladly get back to you as soon as I am in front of my PC again

Collapse
 
leob profile image
leob

Extremely slick & original website ... what tech did you use?

Collapse
 
b4two profile image
Batuhan • Edited

I used html, scss, jquery and fancybox for the image gallery. Btw thank you. Made my day with this comment <3.

Collapse
 
leob profile image
leob

You're welcome. Impressed with the originality of the design, 80% of people's websites look more or less the same (not to say that they look bad, or implying that I would be able to create anything better, on the contrary) but this really stands out.

Thread Thread
 
b4two profile image
Batuhan

I am gonna screenshot this and hang it on my wall

Thread Thread
 
leob profile image
leob

Be my guest ... it really is one of the coolest websites that I've seen in a while. As soon as you start moving the mouse all kinds of magic happens ;-) but seriously the animations are pretty amazing.

Collapse
 
pro95create profile image
Promise mangana

Nice work.

Collapse
 
codenutt profile image
Jared

Super slick. 👍🏼👍🏼

Collapse
 
blakefurvus profile image
Blake Furvus • Edited

This is.. Almost perfect my friend...

It's refreshing to see people from my country to be this skilled in tech

Collapse
 
b4two profile image
Batuhan

<3

Collapse
 
giorgosk profile image
Giorgos Kontopoulos 👀

@b4two neighbor, very impressive website and like the lighthouse score
keep it up !!!

PS according to your name tag you are "in need of help", what help are you in need of ?

Collapse
 
b4two profile image
Batuhan • Edited

Thank you sir <3. Actually "in need of help" thing is half a joke and half not. I need a junior front-end job which is gonna help me improving my skills and i want to learn react as i go through.

Collapse
 
bearclaws profile image
Jeremy Wambugu

What library did you use for the mouse pointer effect? also its a pretty good looking website ... I see youre a Jonas fan

Collapse
 
b4two profile image
Batuhan • Edited

lol yes, with courses of jonas i learned lots of things. And i didn't use any library for the cursor. If you are curious i can make a detailed tutorial for it.