DEV Community

Cover image for How are you doing deployment and CI?
Bar Admoni
Bar Admoni

Posted on

How are you doing deployment and CI?

Hello!
I'm wondering: how you are doing CI/CD for a new or existing project?
Do you have a Bootstrap template that you are already using, or are you creating a new one from scratch?
How you're picking your CI/CD platform and cloud provider?
See you in the comments!

As for myself

Small/medium projects

Usually in those types of projects I don't have access for a full time DevOps (and most of the time, there is no real need).

IaC: Template I made using Terraform and Terragrunt (let me know if you want me to share it)
Cloud Provider: GCP (It's hard to beat the ease of use of Cloud Run)
CI/CD Platform: GitHub Actions (super easy to setup, free tier and easily scalable to the project)

Large/Enterprise projects

Usually in those types of projects I have access to at least one full time DevOps which allows to select less PaaS options

IaC: Terraform and Terragrunt (using the same template from the Small/medium projects section, which scales pretty well)
Cloud Provider: Not an issue, but usually AWS
CI/CD Platform: Jenkis for CI/CD

Footnote

I'm happy to learn and share, my dream is to make it super easy for developers to start a project easily, but they can scale it without marrying a provider like Vercel

Cover Photo Credit

@jramos10

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
appyzdl5 profile image
Appy

For Enterprise projects I can answer, we go for Cloud Provider route because of the ease of setting it up