DEV Community

Cover image for Meme Monday
Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

Meme Monday

Meme Monday!

Today's cover image comes from last week's thread.

DEV is an inclusive space! Humor in poor taste will be downvoted by mods.

Top comments (32)

Collapse
 
cmgustin profile image
Chris Gustin

Image description

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

lol

Collapse
 
opensourcee profile image
OpenSource

It doesn't?? 😱

Collapse
 
codemonkey202 profile image
CodeMonkey202

Wow

Collapse
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro

For comiCSS, I coded a CSS version of the meme that @lissy93 shared last week (the one that is the cover for this article):

Cartoon with a table showing the different planets of the solar system in order closer to farther from the Sun. All of them show 0 deaths and no CSS, except for Earth that has CSS and 117,020,448,575 deaths. Below the table there's a question: coincidence?

I like this meme because it works at so many levels and for almost anything you choose:

  • Tailwind? It works.
  • JavaScript? It works.
  • TailwindCSS? It works.
  • CSS? It works.
  • ASP? It works.
  • Tailwind? It works.
  • PHP? It works.
  • Tailwind? It works.

Did I mention it also works with Tailwind? 😈

Collapse
 
efpage profile image
Eckehard

But remember, Earth is the only planet where there is chocolate...

Collapse
 
mellen profile image
Matt Ellen

So my choices are no death or no chocolate... The universe is a cruel place

Thread Thread
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro

Death by chocolate?

Thread Thread
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro

I remember one of the first websites I visited online was death by caffeine, that it told you how many cups of coffee you could drink before dying of caffeine overdose. Maybe we should build a similar thing but for chocolate. How many chocolate bars can you eat before dying from... chocolatine? (although taking into account the amount of sugar they put on those things, it would be the glucose I suppose.)

Thread Thread
 
efpage profile image
Eckehard

So my choices are no death or no chocolate... The universe is a cruel place

No, you can have both: death and chocolate:
Image description

Collapse
 
auroratide profile image
Timothy Foster

I'm pleased you got Uranus and Neptune in the right order and made Mercury the correct color ( : Leaving Pluto out is spicy tho

Collapse
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro

The good thing about it being HTML+CSS: adding a new line is super easy. Here's a version with Pluto:

Thread Thread
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro

Also, planets not at scale. Otherwise, some would be so tiny :(

Thread Thread
 
flimtix profile image
Flimtix

The advantage of CSS is that the earth is flat and not round. 🤡

Collapse
 
maxart2501 profile image
Massimo Artizzu

I think you're forgetting Tailwind, Alvaro.
Shame on you.

Collapse
 
lissy93 profile image
Alicia Sykes

I LOVE this! I've just seen your comic blog (comicss.art/) - and it's so cool that you've done all that with just CSS (meanwhile I can barley center a div!)

Collapse
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro

Thanks! 😊

Collapse
 
shubhambattoo profile image
Shubham Battoo

Image description

Collapse
 
ngocsotn profile image
The Ngoc Nguyen

I use the right side too, kakaka.
Because previously, I used Visual Studio 2013 and 2015, they have the default right-side tree view, so when I change to VS-Code, I Keep use right-side.
But Vs-Code.deb on Debian based Linux have some bug when you use on the right-side :(

Collapse
 
shubhambattoo profile image
Shubham Battoo

I use it on ubuntu lts works fine

Thread Thread
 
ngocsotn profile image
The Ngoc Nguyen

maybe fixed, I will give a try, thank you

Collapse
 
armgddn profile image
Arma

Left Side Gang🙋🏻🔥

Collapse
 
drsensor profile image
૮༼⚆︿⚆༽つ

Unless your code is in pure Arabic

Collapse
 
srbhr profile image
Saurabh Rai

Yupp I've been using it on the right side and it's awesome
Righty Right!!

Collapse
 
rahulbhai9 profile image
rahulbhai9

Hai, since this is an inclusive community I would like to put forward this concern. I am a person with visual impairments. Is there any way through which I can enjoy this thread? Because I was unable to find description of images or meams. I understand that means are meant to be in image format but still I believe that meames can also be explained via text description. Thanks.

Collapse
 
marco_43 profile image
Marco

I have no experience with visual impairments or accessebility in software at all, but that sounds like a nice project built with ChatGPT and other AI tools to create a image description :-)

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

Man disappearing over 3 frames captioned as when the annoying co-worker asks you to develop a $1 Million dollar app with them

Collapse
 
opensourcee profile image
OpenSource

I wait all week for reading this post 😂

Collapse
 
khairunnisaas profile image
Khairunnisaas • Edited

the only day i got super excited to open dev.to

Collapse
 
renancferro profile image
Renan Ferro

Image description

Collapse
 
martinswdev profile image
MartinSoftwareDev

Me trying to update to supabase ssr
Image description