DEV Community

Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

My home office is coming along nicely

I made this post last week...

And felt like giving an update of being just a bit more moved in...

The plant is definitely a positive element, as is my view of the yard as the trees change colors.

Probably the biggest thing lacking in the space is wall decor, something I've never had much success with. Given that this is the one place in the house that is not "shared" with my partner I definitely want to decorate with elements that make me feel like this is my space. She probably wouldn't want a Spider-man poster in our bedroom, but this room is fair game... But within that, I'm not sure what I want to do with it.

Top comments (20)

Collapse
 
awwsmm profile image
Andrew (he/him)

If I may make a suggestion:

Collapse
 
danielwbean profile image
Daniel Bean

He is a loathsome, offensive brute. Yet I can't look away.

Collapse
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne

@ben please add that 😂

Collapse
 
awwsmm profile image
Andrew (he/him)

The people have spoken @ben

Collapse
 
andrewbrown profile image
Andrew Brown 🇨🇦 • Edited

I would be concerned about knocking over that precarious-looking vase.
Also as talking Tobey Maguire spiderman?

Collapse
 
varjmes profile image
james

How about a large DEV logo in rainbow colours?
My walls are completely bare in my room and I never know what to do with them...

Collapse
 
felipperegazio profile image
Felippe Regazio

i like the DEV logo idea

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

DEV logo in a wood cutting might be really nice.

Like this kind of thing...

Thread Thread
 
felipperegazio profile image
Felippe Regazio

It would be beautiful, i presume

Collapse
 
jeankaplansky profile image
Jean Kaplansky

It's so... clean... as if you don't have any cats, dogs, books, musical instruments... How is this possible? ;) [I have 5 cats and 2 dogs. At a certain point in the workday the cats decide they've had enough and come into my office to do what cats do... Trundle through, knock stuff over, and generally trash the joint until I do their bidding.]

Collapse
 
peledzohar profile image
Zohar Peled • Edited

Here are some guiding questions for you, hopefully they will help you decide:

  1. What are things you never get tired of looking at?
  2. What makes you really happy when you look at it?
  3. What would you like the wall to tell you?

Answering these questions might help you focus on things you might want to put up on the wall - and obviously, no one can answer them for you.

Collapse
 
amberjones profile image
AmberJ

As someone who co-shares a home office with their partner and totally clashes on wall decor choices - I find that a good frame really goes a long way to making something like a Spiderman poster look classy. :) Office is looking great!

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

This is coming along nicely!

Did you give yourself a set budget/timeline for getting your office up and running?

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern • Edited

No timeline or budget. Since I owned mostly everything I used so far I haven't spent any money on this, but everything is definitely better set up than it was before.

I don't have a timeline but I'm immediately working on the next addressable item of wall decor.

We'll see about budget on future things.....

Collapse
 
garrett profile image
Garrett / G66

Thanks for sharing. I love looking at other peoples' workstations.

Collapse
 
livanjimenez profile image
Livan Jimenez

Ikea might be your best friend for this situation. Maybe just walking around the store might give you some inspiration. Check out their show room! (source: I used to work at Ikea a few years ago)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Haha nice!

Collapse
 
cristiannebunu profile image
Cristian N

I'm seriously thinking I need to get something from artstation, maybe like: artstation.com/prints/canvas/a9gX/...

Collapse
 
destro_mas profile image
Shahjada Talukdar

Yup you are making it better.
Good luck for your next upgrade 🎊

Collapse
 
jappyjan profile image
jappyjan

Do you use a TV as your daily pc-monitor?

How is it?