DEV Community

Cover image for Ruby Now Supported Natively on AWS Lambda
Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

Ruby Now Supported Natively on AWS Lambda

I don't have much more context than this:

But... I'm very happy.

Ruby seems like a great fit for Lambda and anything non-natively supported is often just not worth it.

Ruby's benefits—simple and readable syntax, great for scripting through small problems—strike me as just right for a serverless environment. Ruby isn't exactly natively great at the kinds of things we ask it to do as a server-side language powering Rails etc.

Anyway, as a Rubyist, this is lovely to me. I'd love to hear others' takes.

Top comments (13)

Collapse
 
stefandorresteijn profile image
Stefan Dorresteijn

This is exciting. Can finally stop writing JS just for Lambda!

Collapse
 
kylegalbraith profile image
Kyle Galbraith

I know this has been one of the most requested languages for Lambda and it's big they crossed this milestone. But, more important in my eyes is their introduction of Custom Runtimes. Essentially giving you the ability to run Lambda in the language of your choice so long as you adhere to the specification. That is massive.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Absolutely!

This really takes Lambda “out of beta” in my eyes.

Collapse
 
kayis profile image
K • Edited

While I don't care too much about Ruby, it's cool that they used this Ruby implementation to build the foundation for other runtimes, like C++ and Rust

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Yeah, totally.

Collapse
 
sergio profile image
Collapse
 
dschep profile image
Daniel Schep

I just released v1.34.1 of the serverless framework which now includes a ruby template making it super easy to get started! ⚡️💎

npm i -g serverless
sls create -t aws-ruby
sls deploy
Collapse
 
liltechnomancer profile image
Levi ᕙ(⇀‸↼‶)ᕗ

Awwwwww yissss. I have missed writing ruby and want to get back into it now that I’ve gone freelance.

Collapse
 
lyfolos profile image
Muhammed H. Alkan

Also, Rust is added.

Collapse
 
striderhnd profile image
Erick Gonzales

Lambda is killer! finally I can just drop JS to move something more TypeSafe.

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Haha you're on fire today 😂

Great news for all Rubysts!

Collapse
 
lysofdev profile image
Esteban Hernández

My preferred tool for web scrapping!

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.