DEV Community

Bertil Muth
Bertil Muth

Posted on

Finding dev videos

I am wondering how you find interesting dev videos to watch on YouTube, Vimeo and the like. I mainly use channels of conferences like GoTo and devoxx. You?

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
nektro profile image
Meghan (she/her)

I really like LinusTechTips (not a coding channel) as well as the Google dev channels (Chrome Developers, Android Developers, Google Developers, as well as their related channels). freeCodeCamp has a channel. Derek Banas has a lot of "entire language in 30 mins" videos and tutorials.

Collapse
 
kspeakman profile image
Kasey Speakman

Hah, Iโ€™ve watched a good bit of LTT myself. They usually have some good hardware tech explanations in As Fast As Possible too.

Collapse
 
ntomallen profile image
Noah Allen

My favorite channel is Fun Fun Function. Super engaging, and the author is really knowledgeable with experience at Spotify etc. youtube.com/channel/UCO1cgjhGzsSYb...

Collapse
 
ravernkoh profile image
Ravern Koh • Edited

This is related more to computer security than programming, but I recently started watching LiveOverflow for his Capture-The-Flag videos. He breaks down the problems really well and I love watching him finish solving them.

Edit: Clarified the term "security".

Collapse
 
kspeakman profile image
Kasey Speakman • Edited

I watch a lot of conference channels too. I've seen some good ones from StrangeLoop, NDC, and SkillsMatter as well. Probably others I'm not thinking of right now.

Edit: A lot of Sandi Metz videos are really good too, which are usually RubyConf videos. Here is the latest one I watched having to do with teamwork.

Collapse
 
seraphicrav profile image
Ravaka Razafimanantsoa • Edited

This website tries to regroup quality dev video. dev.tube/

I also follow the channel Coding Tech on Youtube.

Collapse
 
bgadrian profile image
Adrian B.G.

After that youtube sugestions works pretty well,
at least it did for me, until I watched like over 1000 of them and now it suggests random things ๐Ÿ˜€

There are hundreds of tech conf around the year, and at least so many meetups and live talk, and so few time to watch them ๐Ÿ˜‘

Collapse
 
adawolfs profile image
Alvin Estrada

I like youtube.com/c/cloudnativefdn/ it's really good and usefull if you want to learn things about Cloud Native, I also follow a lot of conference channels and tech youtubers, after that I have to put my trust on youtube algorithm to get good content by to by.

Collapse
 
apuchkov profile image
Alexander Puchkov

I like a lot videos from NDC conferences: vimeo.com/ndcconferences/videos/so...

There are over 2,000 videos available for free,