DEV Community

Bervianto Leo Pratama
Bervianto Leo Pratama

Posted on • Updated on

What I've learned at 2021?

This year is really wonderful. I am not always successful, sometimes I meet some failure and make me upset. What is going on? In this year, I was taking some certifications exam. Yups, did you think I will pass all the exam? No, it’s big no. You should understand that some certifications not only check your theory and your memorization. It will be good if you have some practical skills. In this post, I just want to summary my success and my failure this year. I want to write some lessons learned from that.

Certification Journey

Fail

First Exam Fail (AZ-500) at the First Month of 2021

AZ-500 Fail

TLDR: Why fail? First, I only learn from the Microsoft Learn without have practical skills and explore more from other resources. Yups, I thought it will easy, this is bad behavior from me. I shouldn't have under expectation for those things. You can see more in my post

Second Azure Exam Fail (AZ-104) at the Last Month of 2021

AZ-104 Fail

Actually, this is not different when I fail at AZ-500. I give under expectation to this exam and thought it will easy. I took practice exam at Role IQ (Pluralsight), but I was too proud and not learn more that I have bad score. When I get the score graph, yups, the bad score part is going bad too in the actual exam.

Other Exam Fail

Salesforce Exam Fail

TLDR: For this one, I'm not having enough time to learn and I just try my best to quick learn. But, yups, the result is the worst that I ever had.

Not only exam

Yups, it's not only exam. I can't tell much other things, since I don't want that thing become public. I just want to say, I did my best. So it's okay when I fail.

My Success

We can't see the fail only. We need to check and know what we've achieved. Yup, thanks to God, I can learn many things in this year. You can see from this site.

Badges

I'm so happy when I can pass some certifications. For those exams, I took so much time to learn and had some practice for practical things, different with some fails exam. I don't give enough time for that.

Summary list:

  1. Microsoft Certified: DevOps Engineer Expert - April 2021
  2. Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Fundamentals - June 2021
  3. Microsoft Certified: Azure Data Fundamentals - June 2021
  4. Cisco Certified CyberOps Associate - August 2021
  5. Microsoft Certified: Azure Solutions Architect Expert - October 2021
  6. Microsoft Certified: Power Platform Fundamentals - November 2021
  7. AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate - November 2021

Other Things

Programing Language

I didn't expect that I will learn functional programing. I decide to move to another company and want to learn more about .NET and C#. However I have a project that use functional programing, especially Elixir. This is a big challenge for me. Oh yeah, I am also start become Fullstack because I start to develop with React.js too. This is really unexpected experience.

Summary List:

  1. Elixir - New
  2. React.js - Learn More and Going Deep
  3. C#/.NET - Keep update and maintain to learn

Preparation for Master Degree

Yups, I move to another company because I want to improve my English skill. Unfortunately, it's not easy to have enough time to learn English more. That is why my English skill quite stuck now. I have time management issue. I need to learn English, prepare for certification exam, and need to done my primary job. It's not easy for me.

My Next Year Plan

Yups, I have many plans for next year. I have some queue to take exam. I will not take easy on it. I want to study more harder. I hope will give more time into that. Hemm... But, I'm afraid that I will not continue to prepare for Master Degree. I don't have good time management. Argh... This is so bad. :(

My focus topics are:

  1. Cloud Service (in term of Development or for Developer, especially for AWS and Azure),
  2. Cyber Security Fundamental, and
  3. DevOps (Especially for Linux Fundamental like scripting, etc. Anyway I want to improve my networking skill, I'm so bad on this).

Thank you

Thank you for reading.

Thanks gif

Top comments (0)