DEV Community

Saloni Goyal
Saloni Goyal

Posted on

What habits help you to stay productive, motivated and happy?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
radualexandrub profile image
Radu-Alexandru B

It really depends. If I'm feeling unproductive, but I've worked a lot in the last 5-6 days, then it's completely fine to take a day off, without any screen time.

Otherwise, if I don't feel like working, I usually break my huge tasks into smaller todos (here you can be as lazy as you can, just open a Google Keep on your phone and start writing.. as you write you begin to think of more creative ways of breaking the tasks). After that, I force myself to do some physical movement (it can be anything, as small as 10 jumping jacks to a complete mini 10 minute workout). Then, if your desk is clumsy, just make some order. Finally, the last step, take a shower, sit at your desk, and just start working/learning.

So far this method worked wonderfully, even when I was burnt out. The main idea is to just to something, doesn't matter how small it is... it's better than laying in bed all day and do nothing.

Collapse
 
blender profile image
Saloni Goyal

This does sound very effective. 🤓
Breaking down tasks into smaller, manageable chunks would help break the inertia and build momentum. Thanks for this.

Collapse
 
dj4385 profile image
Dheeraj Sharma

All depends on your interest...😊