DEV Community

Cover image for Learning more about Git Merges and Remotes
Bregwin Jogi
Bregwin Jogi

Posted on

Learning more about Git Merges and Remotes

This week, I was assigned the task of adding a new feature to another student's repository for our open-source class. Since we are all working on console applications, the repetitive nature of entering the same commands over and over can get a bit tedious. To tackle this, I was asked to implement a feature that allows users to specify default commands in a TOML file, making the process more efficient.

For this task, I worked with Cleo’s project, genereadme, which generates README files for specified documents. My first step was to fork the repo and create a new feature branch. I made a draft pull requests because it shows that I’ve started working on an issue, and they give the repo owner a chance to make suggestions while I’m still developing the feature.

The feature I implemented involved reading a configuration file from the home directory. If users provide command-line arguments for the same options, those would override the defaults specified in the TOML file. After completing the feature, I submitted my pull request. Cleo reviewed it and gave me some helpful feedback, suggesting I move the feature to a different folder and simplify the function. I made those changes and finalized the pull request.

Image description

Overall, it was a fun experience, and I’m sure this feature will come in handy as I continue working on open-source projects in the coming weeks. It also reminded me of how valuable feedback can be when working on a project.

Top comments (0)