DEV Community

Calix Huang
Calix Huang

Posted on

Tips on Blog Marketing

I'm new to blogging, and the problem I have is that I can seem to get people to read my blog posts. Creating the content is not a problem, but distributing it is really hard for me.

My target demographic for my blog is high schoolers in software engineering and entrepreneurship. I'm trying to get traction on platforms like LinkedIn, but I realized that most high school students are active on Instagram, so I'm trying to start marketing on Instagram.

I can't seem to get traction on LinkedIn or Instagram, does anyone have any advice?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
emma profile image
Emma Goto 🍙

Cross-posting all your stuff to DEV is a great place to start, although I'm not sure what percentage of DEV users are high-schoolers.

Samantha Ming has a really great Instagram account so maybe you can check her out and see her approach to sharing knowledge via instagram.

It's a bit hard to give advice otherwise when we can't take a look at your current content, though!

Collapse
 
tyrannaut profile image
Tim Ryan

Hey Calix. I'm gonna be really straight with you, because you asked.

I read your post and though "Hey, OK. Let's check this guys blog then."

Where's the stuff, man?

You have basically no posts here.

You have basically no posts on Medium.

Your Instagram is private.

So in answer to your question, I'd recommend you actually 1) write something, and then 2) make it easily available to people. Start there. It makes no sense that your (alleged) blog isn't linked to your accounts if you want anyone to find it.

And if this is some sort of separate brand-account type blog that you're trying to get off the ground, well fine. But again, marketing can boost interest but it can't create it from nothing. Write stuff that's new and useful, that you wish you'd known about when you were in the same shoes as your target audience. Figure out what people are searching for.

Seriously though. Where is your blog?