DEV Community

Cover image for 3 things i’ve learned on my first full-time job as a fullstack dev
Alberto Fernandez Casuso
Alberto Fernandez Casuso

Posted on

3 things i’ve learned on my first full-time job as a fullstack dev

I have always been a freelancer. I have years of experience as a freelance web developer. But in February this year i landed my first full-time fullstack job. The thing is that being a freelancer is hard sometimes.

So i thought “why not” and was lucky enough to find, and eventually get, a job offer that i liked. Here are three things i’ve learnt from the experience:

1- Don't underestimate your knowledge.

I had doubts while sending my resumes. I couldn’t take off my head the idea that i didn’t know enough for a job in a company.

The reality is that the basics are 80% of the daily job. HTML, CSS and the ability to write some decent JavaScript will get you far.

2- You’ll never stop learning

The first weeks as a dev will be funny. You'll learn a lot, and by a lot i mean lots of different new technologies and platforms. How to make tasks in Jira, Teamwork or wherever. How to manage the ecommerce platform your company uses.

Everything you need to know, you'll learn on the beginning. After that, the learning curve will flatten and will be more steady, until you realize you are in fact creating the knowledge for the new coming devs.

3- More is better

Knowing a lot of different languages or technologies can be seen as a bad thing. Jack of all trades, master of none they say. Well, i now know this is a lie. You can be a jack of all trades and master of some and even master of many.

You don't need to master every single technology out there. But knowing the basics of a lot of them is very helpful. For example, I have basic knowledge of AWS, and a great knowledge of Linux systems. My company is mainly focused on frontend development. Knowing this stuff has been extremely helpful to my company and ultimately to me as a developer.

4- Coffee, please

This is an extra. But i have to say it. Coffee works. Keep a constant source of quality coffee around your office (maybe home office right now) It is proven to increase your dev abilities to the 100 power.

Top comments (0)