DEV Community

Cover image for Weekend Hacking -- What Projects Are You Working on This Weekend?
Chase Stevens
Chase Stevens

Posted on

Weekend Hacking -- What Projects Are You Working on This Weekend?

Happy Friday, dev.to!

We all have interests and areas that we want to explore, and we also have obligations during the week. The weekend is a great time to carve out some time for yourself, learn something new, explore a new idea, or work on your side project.

This weekend, I'm working on a blog post explaining the Ruby on Rails Model-View-Controller architecture using a restaurant as an analogy. I've also signed up for a Python open hacking session on Saturday morning. My idea right now is to make something like a chat client, but instead of talking to a friend or coworker, you talk to a wise and mentoring rubber duck who will help you debug your code.

I wanted to reach out and see what everyone else is up to -- what are you going to be hacking on this weekend?

Top comments (37)

Collapse
 
cjw21824 profile image
Corey Wilkins

I think this weekend is dedicated to working on my personal website, or starting it I should say!

I also started down the journey of picking up Ruby, so I look forward to hearing what you have to say about the MVC architecture of RoR. Happy hacking :)

Collapse
 
chasestevens profile image
Chase Stevens

Awesome! My personal website is just plain ol' HTML and CSS but there are 100 ways to go about it! Gatsby has a ton of great docs and performs really well, and Jekyll would help you make your website and be another step in your Ruby journey!

Collapse
 
cjw21824 profile image
Corey Wilkins

I've mostly worked with React and Gatsby, but I'll definitely look into Jekyll. Thank you for the advice!

Collapse
 
gillchristian profile image
Christian Gill

I'll be working on tsearch.io. A search "engine" for TypeScript functions. PoC is ready and now I have to start making real improvements.

I started a dev.to series about it two weeks ago.

Collapse
 
chasestevens profile image
Chase Stevens

That's awesome! Glad to hear the proof of concept is ready (although that can be the most fun part to build).

Collapse
 
gillchristian profile image
Christian Gill

It was the easier, that for sure. The stuff that's coming seems harder 😂

Thread Thread
 
chasestevens profile image
Chase Stevens

Just remember that 80% of the effects come from 20% of the code! (or something like that.

Thread Thread
 
gillchristian profile image
Christian Gill

Indeed!!!

Collapse
 
ugwuezev profile image
Ugwueze Vincent

I'm still new in the dev space. I've watched a lot of videos on HTML, CSS and JS, but no project to show for it. This weekend, I want to start working on something. However, I have no idea what to start working on. I also want to build my CV and portfolio, but I've got no projects and experience. I need help on all these.

Collapse
 
cjbrooks12 profile image
Casey Brooks • Edited

The best way to learn is by just doing, and a great place to start is by building something you want to use! Even if it's something that has already been made a million times, and something that you don't really expect anyone else will use, it's just so satisfying to use a tool that you built yourself.

As an example, I play a lot of board games, and I love to make small scorekeeping apps such as this one. It's a simple concept but with enough complexity for me to learn. Making a scorekeeper is my go-to for learning a new language or framework, which is much more interesting than the standard to-do list or weather widget apps!

Collapse
 
chasestevens profile image
Chase Stevens

The world's your oyster! If you want to dive right in, I'd recommend Free CodeCamp's Web Design Projects to serve as a starting point. You can also refer back to their lessons if you need a refresher!

Collapse
 
cjbrooks12 profile image
Casey Brooks

I'm working on creating an Orchid plugin to generate Groovy doc sites!

The first step is hooking into the Groovydoc model to get some JSON, and then Orchid can make it pretty like it already does for Java, Kotlin, and Swift.

Collapse
 
chasestevens profile image
Chase Stevens

Very cool! I'm always interested in seeing how all the static site generators from different languages (Gatsby, Jekyll, Hugo, Orchid) stack up against each other performance wise. Here's to the new site!

Collapse
 
cjbrooks12 profile image
Casey Brooks

Orchid is still quite young and I haven't done much perf optimization yet, so Gatsby and Hugo definitely are the top winners here. But Orchid has an advantage over Jekyll with large sites, as Jekyll tends to get really slow after a few hundred pages while Orchid's architecture actually improves build performance with larger sites.

You can see some actual numbers in Orchid's Netlify deploy logs. The latest build did about 500 pages in ~80 seconds, with median page generation times are at 11ms (hugo is <1ms). Definitely not winning any awards there, but certainly good enough for code doc sites integrated into a CI pipeline!

Thread Thread
 
chasestevens profile image
Chase Stevens

Good to know! Maybe next weekend I should mess around with Go and Hugo

Collapse
 
qm3ster profile image
Mihail Malo

Banished a pesky dependency after achieving output parity with it.
Got to delete a lot of code. Feels good.
You probably don't wanna see. It's gruesome.

Collapse
 
coreyja profile image
Corey Alexander

I've got a Package Tracker personal project that I might work on a bit this weekend! It's a Ruby on Rails app that (optionally) looks in your Gmail for any Tracking Numbers and add them to the system. Then it sends you notifications any time your package moves, and a dashboard of any upcoming packages!
Been alive with me as the only User, so working on getting a better frontend and squashing some bugs before I go out and find some more Users!

Collapse
 
sduduzog profile image
Sdu

Working on slim launcher. I wanna rollout a beta soon. I'm learning how to use ConstraintsSet and TransitionManager to animate a swipe gesture. I'm just struggling with a few details that I have to figure out this weekend

Collapse
 
yorodm profile image
Yoandy Rodriguez Martinez

Since my daily job is kind of quiet I will:

  1. Start a new series on writing a data validation library in Python, just to show how to use metaclasses and descriptors.
  2. Close some feature branches in kenobi, my implementation of a Python Language Server for Emacs and Vim users
Collapse
 
chasestevens profile image
Chase Stevens

Sounds like a plan! Have fun : )

Collapse
 
jonasbn profile image
Jonas Brømsø

Doing some yak-shaving on older projects and made a few PRs for the Perl static-analyzer (Perl::Critic). Luckily for me, the following week is winter holiday so I can continue spending working on project. Planning to make progress on either my first Rust project or a Vue-Perl-Mojolicious integration prototype I have been thinking a lot about...

Collapse
 
itsasine profile image
ItsASine (Kayla)

I fixed my Netlify builds tonight. I had been meaning to fix what was under Github Pages and was using their domain settings to get back to working as expected using Netlify builds and domain management. Did that!

Next up is putting my initial work on my grad school Capstone project on Github

ItsASine / pokemon-data-analysis

SAS analysis using Pokemon as a dataset

pokemon-data-analysis

SAS analysis using Pokemon as a dataset


I've done the data gathering and cleaning, so I have that available. Third step for the weekend is to start looking at doing the data viz component.

Collapse
 
gbafana25 profile image
Gareth M.

I was going to try learning some C in the context of low level hardware programming, bare metal, etc. I also wanted to do something like make a simple USB driver for Linux, since I’ve seen some tutorials on this.

Collapse
 
chasestevens profile image
Chase Stevens

That sounds cool! Definitely a level deeper than I've ever dived down into. Would love to see the results and learn how a USB driver work.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I'll be on a little vacation this weekend so nothing intense, but I may take some time to mess around with some new stuff. Maybe a bit of Python, a bit of Rust, and I've been also meaning to dive into some Google Cloud magic APIs including some Tensorflow stuff.

No real coding mode because I'm looking for a break, but I will be following my curiosity. 😄

Collapse
 
chasestevens profile image
Chase Stevens

You've earned it! Maybe one day we'll have AI-written dev.to posts :)

Collapse
 
kunnendavid profile image
David Künnen

Will be working on devsnap.io

Collapse
 
chasestevens profile image
Chase Stevens

The site looks great! Are you working on a new feature or making performance improvements?

Collapse
 
nektro profile image
Meghan (she/her)

github.com/nektro/andesite

It's a custom file server that allows you to whitelist access to folders/files using OAuth2. Been working on it since December and it's coming along nice! 😄

Collapse
 
joehobot profile image
Joe Hobot • Edited

Got Argo CD on K8s cluster, now I want to play some ci/cd with it for fun. Just to see what all it can do.