DEV Community

Cover image for Introducing a banner generator for your articles on DEV
Christopher Kade
Christopher Kade

Posted on • Updated on

Introducing a banner generator for your articles on DEV

I've been struggling to find nice pictures for my articles on DEV (and ones that I'm allowed to use in fact). So I figured I'd make a quick banner generator for simple & straight to the point banners.

Link

gif

All you have to do is:

  • Edit your own banner
  • Download it
  • Upload it to DEV in order to get a URL

screenshot-2

You can upload your images by simply clicking the bottom on the bottom left of your article editor !

  • Add the cover_image attribute in the metadata of your articles with the URL you got from the last step

And that's it !

Even though its main feature is finished, I'll try to add the following in the coming days:

  • More themes
  • Reduced file size
  • Any other recommendations in the comments

I really hope some of you get to use it as much as I will πŸ˜„

UPDATE:

Contribution guidelines & a code of conduct have been added to the project alongside some first enhancements ideas for those who would like to partake in making this tool even better. πŸ˜„

Top comments (31)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Super cool! I agree with all the suggestions. Maybe we could all put some work into this and once it's really polished we could link to it or fold it in to the main editor in some way. πŸ™‚

One thing of note: Our image is 1000x420, but, so a little wider than a 2x1 "social image", so the edges get clipped. You may want to make it so the text can't extend too far to the edges of the image, so it will show up properly in both scenarios.

Collapse
 
christopherkade profile image
Christopher Kade

I'm glad you like it Ben ! We could definitely set up some contribution guidelines and a small roadmap.

Understood, glad you're telling me this as I noticed this problem on the Twitter preview image.

Collapse
 
maxwell_dev profile image
Max Antonucci

This will definitely help a lot of posters, thank you!

One suggestion I'd make is including a service like UnSplash for finding different banner images right from dev.to. It's open source and has lots of good options, and I believe the Notion app already has a working example of searching through its images in a GUI.

I'm obviously partial to including an open-source anime image search, but that may have too narrow an audience to justify haha

Collapse
 
georgecoldham profile image
George • Edited

My suggestions, although there is nothing wrong with this, just if you want more for your project!

  • Text size slider as well as number
  • Color pickers for text and background
  • Option to add an image as the background
  • Random background image/style/pattern generator
Collapse
 
christopherkade profile image
Christopher Kade

Love the suggestions ! Thanks for your input, I'm noting them down so I don't forget anything

Collapse
 
liyasthomas profile image
Liyas Thomas
Collapse
 
christopherkade profile image
Christopher Kade

Liyas, these are currently being worked on by members of the community as you can see here.

The color pickers and the random generation have already been added and other features are in the works. :)

Collapse
 
liyasthomas profile image
Liyas Thomas • Edited

Inspired from your project, I made this simple banner generator. liyasthomas.github.io/banner
With more customizations such as:

  • Customizable background, foreground, border colors
  • Custom border width
  • Custom banner size
  • Color picker
  • Color randomizer
  • Upload your own background image etc..

Feel free to contribute on github.com/liyasthomas/banner

Collapse
 
christopherkade profile image
Christopher Kade • Edited

Great work, but why not contribute to the existing project to make it even better?

Collapse
 
liyasthomas profile image
Liyas Thomas

I went through your project and found out its built with react. I don't know react. So i made a simpler one.

Collapse
 
coreyja profile image
Corey Alexander • Edited

Is this open sourced so we all could poke around and help out with some of the ideas and suggestions that are in this thread?

EDIT: I ask before clicking through and seeing the nice GitHub corner banner πŸ˜†
Link for the lazy like me: github.com/christopherkade/banner-...

Collapse
 
kendalmintcode profile image
Rob Kendal {{β˜•}}

This is really cool! I've been using Canva so I have templates set up for those, but this is really really handy, awesome work!

Collapse
 
coreyja profile image
Corey Alexander

Bookmarking this for my next post! This is great!

Collapse
 
christopherkade profile image
Christopher Kade

For everyone already participating to the project: thank you ! Please give me a short while to set everything up so you guys have everything you need:

  • Issues to know what's needed (and therefore a way to assign people on tasks)
  • Guidelines
  • A better CI/CD pipeline (maybe?)

Have a good one :)

Collapse
 
finallynero profile image
Nero Adaware

This is awesome

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

Really like this - excited to see how it evolves!

Collapse
 
devarjunan profile image
dev-arjunan

Great stuff :)

Collapse
 
yogeswaran79 profile image
Yogeswaran

This is awesome!

Collapse
 
briwa profile image
briwa

This is super! Thanks a lot. I would never have thought about this!

Collapse
 
valentindududu profile image
Valentin D.

Good work Christopher !

Collapse
 
christopherkade profile image
Christopher Kade

Thanks Val !

Collapse
 
silvestricodes profile image
Jonathan Silvestri

Sir...I have been struggling so badly with making them myself.

Thank you so much