DEV Community

Cover image for Code Talk: Which Languages Speak to Your Developer Soul?
Sloan the DEV Moderator for CodeNewbie

Posted on • Updated on

Code Talk: Which Languages Speak to Your Developer Soul?

Welcome to "Discover Your Code," guided by our official DEV moderator, Sloan the Sloth 🦥. This series is designed to help aspiring coders and students explore the coding universe, ignite their passion, and find their ideal career paths.

Today's question is:

From a plethora of languages, which ones resonate with your coding style and interests?

Responses from newbies and experienced devs alike are encouraged in order to broaden our horizons and showcase different POVs.

Follow the CodeNewbie Org and #codenewbie for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
overflow profile image
overFlow

It has to be Spanish and javaScript. and lately i been having dreams about nodejs (I do not know if that is a language or could be considered a dialect of javaScript lol) and Python has of late been whispering sweet nothings to me

Collapse
 
manchicken profile image
Mike Stemle

I find that Rust has been speaking to me a lot lately. It reinforces a lot of programming fundamentals.

I still like JavaScript, it’s a quick and easy language for stuff that doesn’t need to be too complex, but it’s also capable of scaling up considerably if one pays attention to memory use and concurrency.

Perl is still a language I love to go back and visit frequently. Perl is where I grew up, and it’s the language that helped me really understand computers and interoperability. I love using Perl as a glue language, and I’m excited to try more of that sort of thing as I get more used to rust. I’d really like to learn more about wasm with rust, too. I think it might be a fun way of interacting with JavaScript in and outside of a browser.

Collapse
 
ervin_szilagyi profile image
Ervin Szilagyi • Edited

I'm oscillating between the complexity and elegance of Rust and the simplicity of Golang.

Regardless, each language is a tool and should be treated accordingly. Use the right tool for the job. At my work I'm doing I'm doing a bunch of AWS Lambda functions and I mainly tend to use Javascript for them. The reason being that it is lightweight, pretty easy to debug and has good enough performance for what I need.

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard

Spanish ah ah

Collapse
 
liyang51827 profile image
Yang Li

My love is JavaScript.

Collapse
 
rafaftahsin profile image
Rafaf Tahsin

C++

Collapse
 
manchicken profile image
Mike Stemle

I still have a soft spot for C and C++.

Collapse
 
karine_bauch profile image
Karine BAUCH • Edited

I discovered recently Python and decided to switch from javascript to Python!

I love it and what we can do with (everything!)

I've written a post about my choice: Why I chose Python

Somebody told me after that : "Try Ruby, it's even better!"

Collapse
 
eriklz profile image
Erik Lundevall Zara

Depends on what I work with, but if I would have to pick a single one it would be Clojure.

Collapse
 
chantal profile image
Chantal

React is my love!