DEV Community

Cover image for Coding Culture Fit: Where Do Your Values Align in Your Dream Workplace?
Sloan the DEV Moderator for CodeNewbie

Posted on • Updated on

Coding Culture Fit: Where Do Your Values Align in Your Dream Workplace?

Welcome to "Discover Your Code," guided by our official DEV moderator, Sloan the Sloth 🦥. This series is designed to help aspiring coders and students explore the coding universe, ignite their passion, and find their ideal career paths.

Today's question is:

How will you go about finding a company culture that aligns with your aspirations and personal goals?

Responses from newbies and experienced devs alike are encouraged in order to broaden our horizons and showcase different POVs.

Follow the CodeNewbie Org and #codenewbie for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
pageshidara profile image
Hide Shidara

I had very specific requirements: empathetic, good communicators, mental healthcare industry. The hard part is that you don't really know what good fit is until you find it. So... just work at a bunch of places?

Collapse
 
rachelfazio profile image
Rachel Fazio

Only semi-related because I am a non-dev but thought I would share some wonderful advice I was given during Undergrad:

I was in the progress of creating my portfolio and showing it to various companies during portfolio reviews, but had faced some frustration that my work was not as corporate-friendly at the time and thus not as well-received by a lot of companies (I was in a super cyber-punk graphic design phase). I then met with a really wonderful creative design agency located in San Francisco called MacFadden & Thorpe and they actually took one look at my portfolio and one look at me and said, "You gotta make this way weirder, it is not reflecting who you are as a person at all".

First of all WOW. This super affirmed the idea that I needed to lean further into my creativeness in order to find a job that would meet ME where I am at and not the other way around. This helped me to make sure I was using my education for myself, and not for others, and was truly awesome.

Collapse
 
ruthmoog profile image
ruthmoog

I would like to know 🤭

My advice is dull, but you need to be clear what your goals are, and what you can compromise on.

You might make a mistake - but you can leave!

If somewhere meets your needs but doesn't align with what you want, find out if they are making changes in the right direction before you rule them out, & get evidence of those changes so you know they're not empty words.