DEV Community

Cover image for Unravel Your Coding Passion: What Sparks Your Excitement?
Sloan the DEV Moderator for CodeNewbie

Posted on

Unravel Your Coding Passion: What Sparks Your Excitement?

Welcome to "Discover Your Code," guided by our official DEV moderator, Sloan the Sloth 🦥. This series is designed to help aspiring coders and students explore the coding universe, ignite their passion, and find their ideal career paths.

Today's question is:

What specific aspects of coding and development ignite your passion and curiosity?

Responses from newbies and experienced devs alike are encouraged in order to broaden our horizons and showcase different POVs.

Follow the CodeNewbie Org and #codenewbie for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
overflow profile image
overFlow

I am learning everyday the other day I discovered function parameter defaults. It’s always awesome to feel like I’m learning. When I overcome a problem or discover something new. but now I have passed another obstacle. It’s like a micro graduation.

Collapse
 
ethanwillingham profile image
Ethan Willingham

I was once given an assignment in a college graph theory class where I was asked to make a custom approximation algorithm of the traveling sales person problem in Java. I made up my own solution and went to work! Designing, Implementing, tossing it all, designing again, implementing, restarting all over again, and then on the third try I got it. It was one of the funnest weeks I’ve had in my life. I’ll never forget this project because it was when was finally sure that I had chosen the right career path, I graduate next week and am starting my own 4 month long solo boot camp curated by myself! Hoping to get a web dev job in the fall/winter!

Collapse
 
srbhr profile image
Saurabh Rai

Hi! I recently made an open-source project Resume Matcher. And this is something I want to build to help people looking out for jobs and the hiring domain.
And today it's trending on GitHub!
You build for the public and public rewards you with 🧡

Check it out on GitHub: github.com/srbhr/Resume-Matcher

Image description

Collapse
 
kurealnum profile image
Oscar

I think its the excitement after solving a really tough problem. I don't necessarily like solving the problem itself, but it feels very rewarding!

Collapse
 
suttlebrissetteson profile image
Suttlebrissetteson

Hello, "Discover Your Code" community! Excited to be a part of this series with Sloan the Sloth . For me, the problem-solving aspect of coding and the ability to bring ideas to life ignite my passion and curiosity in development supermarks accepting. Looking forward to hearing from fellow coders and beginners on their perspectives as well.

Collapse
 
peakdev118 profile image
PeakDev

I am very passionate and eager-learner.
Coding is my hobby and I enjoy it.
I love coding very much.
Thanks

Collapse
 
codingtheself profile image
Alex Miller

I just like the beautiful and Elegant complexity of the code and the coloring and theme of synthax in the IDE.

Collapse
 
catsarebetter profile image
Hide Shidara

It's changed over the years. It used to be control over an environment (albeit virtually) over the years. Now it's that something that I can make can potentially get millions of users.

Collapse
 
boudewijndanser profile image
Boudewijn Danser

Fixing the puzzle, especially if it is in the sweet spot between not too hard / too easy.