DEV Community

Cover image for Have you ever doubted if you are in the right field?: CodeNewbie Podcast
Rachel Fazio for CodeNewbie

Posted on

Have you ever doubted if you are in the right field?: CodeNewbie Podcast

Vanessa Vun came on the podcast yesterday to talk about her journey as a self-taught coder, finding a job after a bootcamp, and keeping up motivation towards your passions.

Vanessa Vun started her self-taught coding journey in 2022 after quitting a 10-year career as a clinical laboratory scientist. About 14 months later, she landed a job as a Frontend Engineer at SciShield, which provides a platform of solutions for research laboratories.

On the podcast, Vanessa talked quite a bit about redirecting your focus towards a new job goal, specifically from medicine to coding.

She shared:

“I left myself notes around my computer saying like, ‘Pressure makes diamonds,’ or, ‘Always have a learning mindset. Stay curious, collaborate, and remember the truth.’

... Basically I need[ed] to remember my truth and use that truth to empower me to keep going.”

It's extremely challenging to switch fields and to find a job that fits your needs as a creator.

We want to know:

  • Have you ever doubted if you are in the right field?

  • What helps you better understand these thoughts?


ICYMI— find that episode below or wherever you get your podcasts:


Send us your thoughts below and don't forget to give it a listen here or wherever you listen to your podcasts! 💜

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
editsafemode profile image
Jo

I love coding, so after switching over to tech the only thing I wonder is whether I've taken the right steps so far to get to the engineering role I want. Other than that, this is my dream. But like Vanessa, I constantly have to remind myself that I can always carve out a new path towards my goal. I don't have to give it all up! I don't think I'll ever stop coding.

Collapse
 
sally_13 profile image
saleema

Yes, I think my problem is overthinking, and comparing myself to others. Especially when I am stuck on something, or I am just not getting it. Then things get negative and I'm like do I even want to do this anymore?? or Am I even cut out for this?? I use to do something similar and read some motivational quotes or even Disney quotes haha, then after taking a small break, I come back to what I was working on feeling a bit less negative. I think because I know the field I want to be in is so competitive, it gets frustrating and draining at times.

Collapse
 
rachelfazio profile image
Rachel Fazio

Super relatable.

Collapse
 
shawn2208 profile image
Shawn2208

Yes and I’m also a very negative thinker so even when I have a day where I’m on it and the next day my brain just feels so exhausted from the day before so it’s a complete burnout and makes me feel like am I even meant to be in this type of field. And I’ve always wanted a sense of belonging and purpose in life and I would love to be an expert In something lol

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy 🎖️ • Edited

Not once, as I've enjoyed programming for 40 years since was a curious 7 year old.

I do have daily doubts about whether others are in the right field though... 😉