DEV Community

Brian Bethencourt for CodeNewbie

Posted on

Weekly Challenge #4 - Start the Singularity

Hey everyone! For this week's programming challenge, we're getting our hands dirty with machine learning.

I've been eager to try out @vincenius' fastai tutorial and playfully shirk my other responsibilities so I can learn how to teach a machine what a dinosaur is:

I love these stepping stone style posts that give you enough to get started but not so much that you're overwhelmed. After hearing so much about artificial intelligence and machine learning, I've been excited to explore it myself.

Vincent's post is an approachable way to dive in without spending hours on fundamentals if you're unsure you'll enjoy it. After dedicating lots of time recently to web dev, I haven't had a lot of time to work with Python like I used to for projects I've built in the past. I'll be sharing what I get done by the end of the week, so if you're a hands-on learner like me, follow along and then use this foundation to make changes and expand on it.

If you have more ML/AI experience, I'd love to see how you can improve or add to Vincent's work. You can also share any AI projects you've made to inspire others.

Good luck and happy coding!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
devencourt profile image
Brian Bethencourt

I'm so late to this but I totally did replicate Vincent's project here: huggingface.co/spaces/devencourt/D...

It was super fun to do and only took me about two hours over a couple of days. Definitely a confidence building exercise if you haven't worked with ML or Python in a while (or ever).