DEV Community

Cover image for What is the best advice you have ever received?: CodeNewbie Podcast
Rachel Fazio for CodeNewbie

Posted on

What is the best advice you have ever received?: CodeNewbie Podcast

Hey hey hey! Welcome back to CodeNewbie Podcast, our little corner of DEV in which we share weekly interviews with tech professionals to give you supportive advice to further your development career.

Last week we released our second episode of this season with @aaspinwall, Frontend Engineer at Amazon. In this episode we discussed music, the importance of adaptability, career shifts, bootcamp, and AI toolkits, oh my!


PSSST: If you'd like to listen, get into it!

play pause CodeNewbie

At the end of each episode we have four main questions we ask our guests. You'll have to tune in to hear the full answers, but in the meantime, I would love to hear y'alls responses to my favorite question in the roundup this week.

This week's question is: "What is the best advice you've ever received?"

I quite liked what Alejandro shared with us, so have opted to loosely paraphrase it for y'all for inspiration:

“I had a teacher in university and every time we would ask ‘are we doing it well’ or ‘can we have some feedback for this’. He used to say, 'I don’t know! Think about it. Are you doing it well? Are you having fun? Is it the right way to do it?'. It was very hard for me to understand and I thought he was trolling me, but then I thought, I should try to understand these questions more instead of trying to figure them out from an absolute perspective.

Just trust yourself a little more.

Sometimes there is no right answer for things.”


So without further ado, let me know the best advice you've ever received.

See ya tomorrow with our new episode.

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
lnahrf profile image
Lev Nahar

Fake it till’ you make it.

Sounds cliche but works wonders, when you put your mind to something, work towards it and identify as that thing, you will transform into that thing.

Collapse
 
jordantylerburchett profile image
Jordan Tyler Burchett

Very true, you can reprogram who you are by doing this!

Collapse
 
rachelfazio profile image
Rachel Fazio

Yes!

Collapse
 
pixi3mama profile image
Abdiel Jayne

I think I have received some good advice recently from a book. "Anatomy of a Breakthrough" by Adam Alter was a good book in whole, but some key points that I took away: The middle is often the hardest part of a goal we are trying to achieve. It also appears right before we get there, that last hill, so to speak. If you're struggling, perseverance is key. Take inventory of where you are and where you're going and if you're close to the end, it may be worth it to see it through. We fail and should be failing more than we are succeeding. The successes we hear about often come through many failures, so keep your eyes on your goals. I know this isn't exactly about coding, but perhaps there's someone out there who needs hear this. It might give you the umph you need. "Ain't Nothing To It But To Do It"- Dillon Francis' song "Go Off (Nutin' 2 It)"

Collapse
 
rachelfazio profile image
Rachel Fazio

Love this advice. Thank you for sharing and will definitely check out this book!

Collapse
 
pixi3mama profile image
Abdiel Jayne

I hope you enjoy it! It certainly held my sporadic attention span and was a very good reminder of information we've all heard. Adam has many stories that help color in the grey areas we rarely hear about.

Collapse
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

The best advice I have received...if you can't understand my words, then understand my silence.

Collapse
 
rachelfazio profile image
Rachel Fazio

🤌🏻

Collapse
 
rachelfazio profile image
Rachel Fazio

Two best advice chunks I ever received:

  • After experiencing a lot of strife over a project in undergrad, I had a TA tell me that the point was for me to have fun, and if I wasn't having fun, that meant that something needed to change in the way I was thinking about it, trying to solve it, or approaching my solutions. I still preach this to people!
  • When you are sad go outside!
Collapse
 
jordantylerburchett profile image
Jordan Tyler Burchett

I live by "Keep a busy mind"...

A busy mind doesn't have time to be depressed, a busy mind creates honest work, a busy mind is a creative and wondering mind!

Keep a busy mind and happy venturing 🙂