DEV Community

Cover image for Whatcha Watchin'? πŸ‘€πŸ“Ί
Ben Halpern for CodeNewbie

Posted on

Whatcha Watchin'? πŸ‘€πŸ“Ί

Hey, let's switch gears today and give ourselves a break from interview prep and coding chatter. What shows are ya'll watching right now? "Futurama," "Based on A True Story," "Justified"? Has anyone seen "Kevin Can F**k Himself"?

Follow the CodeNewbie Org and #codenewbie for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (28)

Collapse
 
nwarwick profile image
Nicholas Warwick

I was pleasantly surprised by Silo on Apple TV. Despite butchering Foundation I think they got this one right.

Collapse
 
danbailey profile image
Dan Bailey

Gonna +1 Silo, too. Epic adaptation of the books, cannot wait for season 2.

I've been half-watching Afterparty on Apple TV+ -- which is to say, when the fiancee is watching it, I give it half an eye while coding. I'm actively being disappointed by Secret Invasion, and in the process of watching through Ted Lasso yet again.

I'm probably going to take a break from TV for awhile -- I'm in the meaty part of my training program on the bike, and that's chewing up hours. I've also got some coding projects I'd like to get big bites taken out of before I leave for my European vacation in mid-September. So, you know, TV should probably fall to the wayside.

This could all be waylaid by the second season of Welcome to Wrexham and the start of the NFL season in September.

Unless you guys have additional recommendations...? πŸ˜€

Collapse
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog • Edited

+1 on Silo. I liked Foundation S1 but I don't remember the books at all so maybe that's the reason.

Collapse
 
alais29dev profile image
Alfonsina Lizardo

Silo is pretty great, I also liked Foundation S1, but didn't read the books so maybe that's why. I'm waiting for all season 2 to come out to binge watch it

Thread Thread
 
antdbanhui profile image
AntDB

I like Silo, too. It's good.

Collapse
 
manchicken profile image
Mike Stemle

Star Trek, mostly.

Collapse
 
danbailey profile image
Dan Bailey

Ooh, yeah, I've come back to Trek for the first time since the early days of TNG. Strange New Worlds has been my jam, and I've gotta download a bunch of eps to put on the iPad for the flights and train transfers for my upcoming Europe vacation.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Nice! πŸ––

Which Star Trek version you tuning into?

Collapse
 
manchicken profile image
Mike Stemle

I also love that you said β€œtuning into,” as it’s such a wonderful phrase that used to be very precise and now it’s a fun term of art that we still use. I love it, and thank you for letting me have my old person moment.

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha! So happy it triggered that for ya. πŸ˜€

Collapse
 
manchicken profile image
Mike Stemle

Strange new worlds lately. I have a hard time watching some of the darker story lines like Picard, but I still love all things Star Trek.

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Nice!! I've heard that's quite good, but can't say I know much about it.

My parents absolutely loved Next Generation... I remember watching that one when I was about 10 years old bored as hell, haha. I rewatched it during COVID and had a much more enjoyable time as an adult. I've yet to watch Picard, but need to check it out!

Thread Thread
 
manchicken profile image
Mike Stemle

I rewatch old trek episodes regularly. It is a show that has really done a lot to shape who I am. I got my sense of empathy in part from Star Trek.

Collapse
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog

Yes, I saw "Kevin Can F**k Himself" a while back. It was nice.

Rewatched Mrs Davis just now. It's fantastic. Saw Creamerie which was amusing and a bit silly. Also "Deadloch" which was really good and a bit silly.

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

New season of The Witcher, very cool série on Netflix 😍

Collapse
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

I've been watching The Smurfs, the original from the 80s.
Very communist, very positive and uplifting, very smurfy!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I'm in need of a good show right now, so gonna dig through this list and see what I find...

Personally, I've been watching way too much YouTube recently haha...

I stumbled on a video by a professional climber named Magnus MidtbΓΈ yesterday and kinda went down a wormhole of his videos. Here's a fun one for y'all:

Collapse
 
nlxdodge profile image
NLxDoDge

I am a bit to hard into Anime to stop watching it, currently watched the first three episodes of the Vending Machine Isekai on Anilist.co 🀣

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

(Re)watching various 1980s TV. Currently going through Family Ties (all seasons currently on Pluto):

Family Ties is an American sitcom television series that aired on NBC for seven seasons, premiering on September 22, 1982, and concluding on May 14, 1989. The series, created by Gary David Goldberg, reflected the move in the United States from the cultural liberalism of the 1960s and 1970s to the conservatism of the 1980s. This culture was particularly expressed through the relationship between young Republican Alex P. Keaton and his ex-hippie parents, Steven and Elyse Keaton.

Collapse
 
erinao profile image
Erin A Olinick

Alex P. Keaton! πŸ™Œ I just watched "Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie" on AppleTV and it was quite touching.

Collapse
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro

Bluey.

Collapse
 
danbailey profile image
Dan Bailey

That show makes me feel like the world's most incompetent parent. 😬

Collapse
 
ksolomon profile image
Keith Solomon

Watching the last season of Succession currently…after that, I think next up is The Bear

Collapse
 
alvesjessica profile image
Jessica Alves

The Crowded Room on Apple TV! Last episode is going to be released tomorrow, looking forward to watch it.

Collapse
 
prakh_r profile image
Prakhar Yadav

How has it been going so far? Been thinking of watching it but not sure yet.

Collapse
 
alvesjessica profile image
Jessica Alves

I really liked, I watched last episode yesterday and for me it's a 7.5 - 8 out of 10. If you enjoy psychological drama I recommend it πŸ‘πŸΌ

Collapse
 
sam8dec profile image
Samudra Banerjee

Watched the new Super Mario Bros movie. Was fun reliving old memories through a movie!

Collapse
 
kurealnum profile image
Oscar

Binge watching Adventure Time for the 6th time.