DEV Community

Cover image for References and sources for modern software project management?
Carlos Garcia ★
Carlos Garcia ★

Posted on

References and sources for modern software project management?

Hello everyone. To get my bachelor's degree I need to create the full documentation of a new project, and needless to say I have to make academic references and justify my decisions. Most of this stuff I know from experience or practice, or have outdated sources to reference.

In delivering the best paper I can, and also to grow professionally, I am looking for up-to-date information that can apply to modern software development (especially now that Cloud architecture is everywhere). I will greatly appreciate it if you can help me with the best sources you know, preferably printed material.

The most important topics to justify are:

  • Security measures
  • Software methodologies (mostly for small groups. I'm thinking agile)
  • Feasibility studies
  • Requirement gathering
  • Data/database architecture (non-relational, noSQL databases)
  • Implementation plan

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
isaacdlyman profile image
Isaac Lyman

I'm a big fan of "The Nature of Software Development" by Ron Jeffries, one of the original Agile signatories: amazon.com/Nature-Software-Develop....

It's a very slim, idealistic volume that explains how Agile works, especially on small teams and at startups. It fits solidly under your "Software methodologies" category, although it won't help much with more technical topics.

Collapse
 
scottshipp profile image
scottshipp

In my opinion there are no books from the past seven years or longer that have made their way into canonical status. The older books on the topics you listed still serve their purpose quite well because of course all of what you've mentioned is principle-based, and while the technologies may change, the principles do not.

My favorite book for how to think about software projects is still Lean Software Development: An Agile Toolkit by the Poppendieck's. Sample chapters are available from the publisher here.

Some other suggestions are Software Requirements 2nd Edition by Karl Weigers, Making Things Happen: Mastering Project Management by Scott Berkun, and Data Modeling Essentials 3rd Edition by Simsion and Witt.

Classics like The Mythical Man Month and Peopleware are worth it also.