DEV Community

CuriousDev
CuriousDev

Posted on

What do you think about Git integration of VS Code?

It is quite usual to use Git Repositories for Source Control and many IDEs have an integration built-in. At the moment I am working a lot with Visual Studio Code and this is the reason for to use its functionalities for Git. Before I also used it with Visual Studio, which I liked, because it offers all I needed after I learned how it works. I understand that VS Code is very different from VS, but still like to compare it. With VS Code it actually is very different. You can get used to it and it will offer important features, like Fetch, Pull, Commit, Push, working with the Branches etc., but I dislike the lack of a complete history of a certain Commit, which you can have with VS. It works for single files, but sometimes I would like to check all changes for all files related to a single Commit. Maybe it is there and you can help me on this, but from what I know, it is not available.
There also is the possibility to use Git with Bash or with Git GUI, I am aware of it being definitely an option, but if I can use a built-in integration, which gives me the important commands, I am fine with it.

What is your opinion about Git in VS Code? You are also welcome to write about other things, like why you prefer Git Bash or not. Thanks for reading everyone!

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
nikfp profile image
Nik F P

The standard Git integration VS Code offers is feature rich, but I still find myself using Git on the command line almost all the time. The only thing that really stands out for me in VS Code is the diff editor and a few things from Gitlens.

Collapse
 
curiousdev profile image
CuriousDev

The Diff Editor is great and I guess, there can be situations, which make it necessary to use Git Command Line. I kinda wish, it would be possible to see for a commit the whole history of changes, like with VS.

Collapse
 
renanfranca profile image
Renan Franca

I love gitlens extension! ❀

I enjoy using vscode with gitlens, I prefer the user interface than use the command lineπŸ‘

Collapse
 
curiousdev profile image
CuriousDev

Maybe Gitlens is worth to be tried, thanks everyone!

Collapse
 
cndavu profile image
Charles Ndavu

User interface is better

Collapse
 
curiousdev profile image
CuriousDev

At the moment I prefer it, too, but understand as well, that knowing how to deal with Git Bash is important.