DEV Community

Cover image for Show Your Work!
Christopher Wray
Christopher Wray

Posted on • Originally published at chriswray.dev

Show Your Work!

My wife got me this awesome book by Austin Kleon titled, "Show your Work!". The book is super easy to read and I highly recommend it. The title is pretty clear, but the point of the book is how to share your work and use that as a way to get discovered.

Here is me sharing my work.

The past few months I've been working on a project with Garden Gate Nursery that soon will be finished. It's an inventory program that will help plant nurseries track inventory as it comes and goes from their nursery and generate orders & quotes for customers.

It will be fully integrated with QuickBooks Online & Desktop to generate invoices for orders and track sales. We may integrate with the QuickBooks Payments API as well to be able to charge customers through the app.

It is built on Laravel utilizing Inertia JS as a connector with the backend and Vue on the frontend. I'm using Tailwind CSS for the styling and Daisy UI for some components.

This video is a fast forwarded version of all the updates I took while working on the project. You can see the progress I made on the app and how it evolved over time! All in under 10 minutes.

Top comments (0)