DEV Community

Cover image for Can you crush your workload while working from home?
Danila Petrova
Danila Petrova

Posted on • Updated on

Can you crush your workload while working from home?

2020 has just started a couple of months ago, yet we are found in the difficult situation of dealing with the coronavirus - leading many companies to enlist remote work policies. While it is manageable for healthy people in the peak of their strength, we all have loved ones who do not fit this profile.

I happen to work for a software company developing healthcare apps along with technology that assists other sectors such as finance and aviation.

Luckily for those like me who have the opportunity and ability to work from home in events such as this. Now, I am not someone who has the credentials to speak on behalf of health organizations or give advice as to what should be done in the situation to maintain your health.

I am, however, someone who has been working both from the office and from home for a while. So I can offer you some practical advice on how to get your work done while you are taking care of your health.

Distractions and how to moderate them

The biggest issue with home office is the number of distractions and temptations you are exposed to. Your TV, Laptop, Netflix, pets, the dirty dishes in the sink, the laundry you have been putting off etc. I can only speak for myself, but I have a fairly hard time getting into “work mode” when I have all of my usual housework staring at my face.

The other big potential risk with working from the comfort of your own home is just that: getting too comfortable. I have, over the years, separated work from home. Home is comfort, rest and chores. Work is focused and dedicatedly productive.

All that being said I have several ways I have been able to manage those distractions.

Get the household chores done first.

Sounds counterintuitive right? Your goal is to set up and get to work to take care of your assignments, so why would you start with the household work. As I said, having the nagging feeling at the back of my head doesn’t let me focus on my work. And in all honesty, if done often house chores shouldn’t take more than 30 min of your time - at least the most pressing ones like dishes, laundry or tidying up. Especially with the added bonus of having the machines do their job while you are doing yours.

Set up everything you need for a long work session.

Get a bottle of water, make yourself coffee or tea. Grab everything you need to work from your PC setup to notepads pens markers. Whatever it is that you use when you work, make sure you have it beforehand. Go to the bathroom, stretch out. Do all of the things that will get you to get up and interrupt your work.

Turn on Do Not Disturb on your phone.

Unless being available on the phone at all times is a part of your job or you have an emergency that requires your attention you should get rid of your phone while working. Warn the people who contact you the most you will be busy for a while if you need to. Or if you want to still be reachable if there is something ask them to only call if there is an emergency. Then turn off your notifications for texts, apps etc.

I am aware of how uncomfortable you may feel with your phone out of reach, especially if you grew up with tech as a vital part of your life as I did. But this is the best way for you to be able to get your assignments done. And once you get used to working without interruption you will appreciate it and find just how quickly you can get through your work as long as you are focused.

Set up a separate workstation.

Personally, it is easy to go into rest mode when at home. Either watching some show I like or painting or as silly as petting my cat for thirty minutes. My point is that I have associated the space I live in as the one where I can let loose and relax. And that is great - exactly what home should be. But the first couple of days I worked from home I easily lost track of time and realised I hadn’t started working at 3 pm, leading me to have to work as late as 12 am.

Not to be grim, but if the pandemic spreads more you may have to set up a workspace in your home you can work comfortably from for extended periods of time. So depending on your living space, make arrangements that give you separation between work and rest. Buy a desk, if you can dedicate a room to it, if not, then a corner will do. Make sure to only use this space when you are working focused. Trust me you will enjoy working from it for years once you dedicate some effort.

Plan ahead what work you will do today.

I realize not everyone approaches work this way. But I have found that taking me to-do list out of my head and on paper gives me several benefits. The biggest one is peace of mind - I used to constantly remind myself that there is something I need to get done.

Ironically, at the same time, I would constantly forget something important. Now I have a weekly to-do list that always has more room to add in tasks as the weak goes. I also have a daily to-do list that allows me to distribute my workload evenly throughout the week. This is true both for working from home and at the office but I believe it is a great way to limit distractions in any case.

Tailor your approach to your needs

All of my tips are based on my work’s requirements and my personal preferences - this is what I found that works best for me. Try some of them as a base and then customize them to fit your own work. And your own preferences. Some people, for example, prefer to work on the couch rather than a dedicated desk. Others prefer digital organizers and lists to the old fashioned planning journal.

Experiment, optimize and stick to practices that work for your process and extract the best results. I hope this was helpful! If you have any other suggestions on how to crush your workload while being quarantined at home share them in the discussion for everyone to see!

Top comments (11)

Collapse
 
michi profile image
Michael Z

There have been quite a few blogs like this recently which makes me wonder: Am I the only one who feels more productive working from home? With no shoulder taps or loud open meetings going on around me, I can, in a long time, focus on a problem for a long time :)

Collapse
 
danilapetrova profile image
Danila Petrova

To be honest, I have been really productive working from home as well. That is once I was all set up.

Collapse
 
ssimontis profile image
Scott Simontis

Random tips I have found while readjusting to working from home (my employer has suspended in-office work until further notice):

  • In video meetings, turn your camera on. It helps make it a little bit more of a personable experience and motivates people to pay attention.
  • Try to stick to a structured schedule. Personally, my life devolves pretty quickly if I don't stick to a schedule.
  • Don't be afraid to pick up the phone and call a coworker! A five minute call can accomplish thirty minutes worth of Slack messages.
  • My office feels like a family, so it can be lonely working from home. I make an effort to meet the coworkers I am closest to for lunch or social events so we can stay connected.
  • I have to find new ways to take breaks. At work, I might go get a cup of coffee and get five to ten minutes of socializing in while doing so. I have to find small activities I can do at home when I need a break.
Collapse
 
skelcat profile image
Cat

Greetings,

Great post, I especially agree with the having a separate place and the task list, both help a lot, to measure and control work time vs leasure time.

On the comment above, there are amazing tips also, but This is so important:
"Don't be afraid to pick up the phone and call a coworker! A five-minute call can accomplish thirty minutes worth of Slack messages."

When people don't see what you are saying, misconceptions can happen, since writing does not give the sensation of mood, most of the times if you feel the conversation is being too confused or taking too long, or you already know it's a subject you guys don't agree, do a call!

Ty
BR

Collapse
 
danilapetrova profile image
Danila Petrova

I absolutely agree with this. If I have a lot to discuss with a colleague, I tend to outline it in an email and then call to discuss it. This gives the call structure - doesn't let me forget something important. And later on, if I wonder on what we agreed upon once read the email/agenda I am quickly reminded.

I also try to add notes on things we settled on since I am managing various types of tasks so they can be easily mixed up if not tracked properly.

Thank you for adding to the discussion! I am really glad you found something helpful in the article and in the comments!

Collapse
 
danilapetrova profile image
Danila Petrova

Awesome tips!

Thank you so much for adding them to the topic. Everyone could benefit from them!

Collapse
 
drm317 profile image
Daniel Marlow

The best way I've found of remaining focused is The Pomodoro Technique. I break work into intervals with a timer.

Collapse
 
marlonanthony profile image
Marlon Decosta

Pomodoro clocks, good note taking, I used to pay these 'easy' things little mind. I'd write 'fake notes' -- just enough to tell myself I did. I'd think, 'If I'm in the zone, why allow a stupid timer to disrupt that?' Shocker, if you're in the zone, the stupid timer won't disrupt you. That said, it's a great way to structure your time, give your brain a moment to digest the work done in the previous session -- reflect. I find these easy things invaluable.

Collapse
 
danilapetrova profile image
Danila Petrova

I agree with you, and you always have the option to keep working through the timer. But you can also take it as a time you can take your eyes off and rest.

I know people who can't get started with work. I also know some who will work 8 hours straight staring at their computer screens with the absolute minimum bathroom and coffee breaks. Doing this can cause headaches, eyesight issues, neck and back pain, hand cramps and more.

So is it really that bad of a thing if you get interrupted every once in a while and reminded to take a break? Besides, you can customize the timer as you wish. My timer is set on a 45-minute work 15-minute break (which I do not always take). So there is a lot to this method that can be a cornerstone benefit for productivity balanced with healthy habits.

Collapse
 
danilapetrova profile image
Danila Petrova

I am glad you brought up Pomodoro! It is one of my all-time favourite methods, and I especially apply it in situations I am having a hard time focusing.

For people who aren't familiar with the method, I am leaving this article as a guide to get into it.

Collapse
 
drm317 profile image
Daniel Marlow