DEV Community

David Pastor
David Pastor

Posted on

Fish Shell + Deno | Command Line

TLDR; This is a short tutorial on how to set up and use Deno with the Fish shell. NOTE: I am using a Macbook, I am not sure how to fix it on other OS.

Today, I wanted to try Deno for the first time, but I also use Fish as my main shell for the Command Line and I got this error after executing deno

fish: Unknown command: deno

The way I solved it was to go into the fish config files:
~/.config/fish/config.fish

and add the following lines:
set -x DENO_INSTALL /Users/YOUR_USER/.deno
set -x PATH $DENO_INSTALL/bin:$PATH

then just source ~/.config/fish/config.fish

After that you will be able to execute Deno in the command line using Fish Shell. Any errors after that, might be related to Deno’s shell or missing flags when running it.

Thanks for reading this short how-to post and feel free to share it.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
gevera profile image
Denis Donici

Thanks for sharing!

Collapse
 
balduinofernando profile image
Balduino Fernando

Awesome.