DEV Community

Mrityunjaya Prajapati
Mrityunjaya Prajapati

Posted on

Are you working on any Side Project?

I think Side Project is not just to start your Startup, it might be for your new learning.

If you want to learn any new technology, my suggestion is that develop a mini project or MVP product. This product you can host in your Github or launch as a Startup.

If you guys have any other thoughts, please share!!

Top comments (16)

Collapse
 
dimitarstbc profile image
Dimitar Stoev

Side projects are dangerous, because you can start infinite of them and finish none!

I have been there.. not a good place to be.

I would suggest to really think of an idea before starting and discuss it with some proffessionals. Find the right people and solve the right problems.

As for learning - I totally agree, but the project should be smaller and fragmented.

Collapse
 
deadwin19 profile image
Mrityunjaya Prajapati

100% agree, if you are planning to launch a startup then solving right problem is very important.

Collapse
 
mikeyglitz profile image
mikeyGlitz

Eric Reis is a good person to start reading. Find The Lean Startup. It's a good book

Thread Thread
 
cyriltl profile image
cyril-tl

*Eric Ries

Thread Thread
 
deadwin19 profile image
Mrityunjaya Prajapati

Thanks for sharing, that's one of the great book that read how to build and scale your startup.

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

My primary side-project is adding functionality to my text editor. I spend a lot of time in my text editor and try to pay attention to tasks that I seem to be repeating.

For example, I realized I was often taking a Github URL (e.g. https://github.com/forem/forem/pull/17919) and manually converting that to an abbreviated version (e.g. forem/forem#17919) for my note taking.

So I wrote the following:

(defun jf/abbreviate-url (url)
    "Abbreviate the given URL; prompt if not provided."
    (interactive (list (jf/prompt-for-url-dwim)))
    (let ((abbr (jf/github-abbreviation-for :url url :fallback url)))
      (if (thing-at-point-url-at-point)
      (apply 'replace-string-in-region
         (flatten-list
          (list url
            abbr
            (thing-at-point-bounds-of-url-at-point))))
         ;; Else just insert the URL at point
    (insert abbr))))

Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

You can find more details on this in the Utility Functions of Emacs configuration.

The above function leverages some previous functions I wrote to help me with consistent branch creation (which provided quick navigation between local branches and the corresponding issue).

Collapse
 
deadwin19 profile image
Mrityunjaya Prajapati

Wow that's great, thanks for sharing

Collapse
 
lordlokion profile image
Akhil Sharma

sometime its good to have a side projects, it may take longer to complete but yea it will increase your skills, woring alone on a project is sometimes difficult but its worth a try.
I have created a project alone its because i think there are many pople who dont know about financial indeendence so its my duty to make a website that will lp users to learn about financial independnce and the concept of money.
Website: myfinanceschool.com

Collapse
 
deadwin19 profile image
Mrityunjaya Prajapati

Thanks for sharing the URL and 100% agree financial independence is one of the important factor of our life.

Collapse
 
raguay profile image
Richard Guay

Side projects are also a way to create solutions to your problems that other software doesn’t have or isn’t quite the fit for your needs. My side projects I use everyday in my normal workflow. They also help in keeping up to date with some of the latest tech stacks.

Collapse
 
fvaldes33 profile image
Franco Valdes

Few years ago I built a simple API that would draw geojson boundaries on google maps for a freelance client. I decided to rebuild it to learn a new stack and went all in. Transformed it into a no code tool for customizing maps. My goal was 30 days, did it in 20. Soft launched it on Monday. Check it out at cartta.io 👍🏽

Collapse
 
jesusantguerrero profile image
Jesus Guerrero

I treat them as personal labs to explore concepts even though I don't finish some of them they address a challenge (exploring a new language, custom fields, testing, or a new tool i want to try) that allows myself to have a working reference of use cases that I can come back and see.

Collapse
 
deadwin19 profile image
Mrityunjaya Prajapati

Yes its like your own R&D labs

Collapse
 
daviducolo profile image
Davide Santangelo • Edited

yes! Take a look at datorss.com a search engine based on RSS feed.

Collapse
 
deadwin19 profile image
Mrityunjaya Prajapati

That's a great one, thanks for sharing

Collapse
 
valentinesean22 profile image
Valentine Sean Chanengeta

this is great, do you mind to share how did you do it, algorithm or design?