DEV Community

DeChamp
DeChamp

Posted on

Anyone else a little lost in the growth of Dev.to?

So I've been a member of Dev.to since 2018. I wrote my first post on Aug 17, 2018. Just to give you a reference that I've been on here for a while.

When it was first starting up, it was so easy to get your post to grab attention and to get feedback. Not saying that's not the case for some of us still but I can imagine some of us feel it much harder now.

I've been feeling a little lost in the crowd when Dev.to grew to what it is today. A name that everyone in the industry knows and loves.

Many of us rely on for news, socializing and learning. But the spark for me was some what lost when I started finding that the place I once knew had started to change and the people I interacted with seems to also be pushed away or perhaps grew tired of the lack of attention to their post.

Change is a wonderful thing, it's brought so much great things. At the same time change can be a little uncomfortable for some of us.

My own personal story, I felt like part of something special. I had a voice to be heard, where now it can often feel like I'm in the middle of the crowded lines, trying to tell my story over the voices of the crowd hoping to be heard.

I'm sure it's probably just me feeling this way but for the slight chance there are others out there that feel the same way, I'd love to hear your story.

What are some ideas on how platforms can grow, while still making sure that their users feel valued across the board?

I dream of when I have this problem in the future when my own projects take off (fingers crossed!) and I hope to learn from all of you on what you think it would take.

One idea I had was to open up additional parts of the site for those who have been here (selfish thought? or just an idea 🤷🏻‍♂️) for a certain period of time or maybe meet some other criteria (make it fair as possible).

Does that push others away to feel unfair? It's not an easy topic to solve and I would imagine that they've had some long hard discussion over some of these issues already as Dev.to.

Perhaps that is why we have badges and mod center, but I feel like they do not answer the issue of how to keep your user base feeling welcomed? The more users you get the harder it becomes.

I was just wanting to vent and reach out in hope it kick starts my journey back to Dev.to posting. I would love to be inspired again.

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

I relate to this post and I think my interpretation of what happened comes down to 3 things that all happened around the same time (These are listed from least to most impactful to me personally) :

1 - I was promoted to Trusted User | At first it wasn't a problem, I would admin upvote/downvote and flag as spam when it came up during my normal reading until...

2 - The influx of spam | I used to read the latest feed and check my notifications. At some point the Latest feed became so filled with spam that I stopped reading it at all because I was spending just as much time going through the mod tools to mark things as spam as I was reading anything.

3 - The loss of Connect | To me, this was when I really stopped feeling connected to the platform. Instead of being able to quickly message my friends here, I now had to seek them out on other platforms - and of course not everyone was on any single platform, so it led to a fragmented feeling of community that Twitter/Discord/Slack DM's didn't fill. Comments obviously still exist, but I haven't seen a large amount of people that use it for the "Hey this was cool!" comment - and it doesn't feel like a place for a tangential conversation like Connect Chat did.

The loss of Connect felt particularly noticeable with Codeland since the remove of the feature. As someone who doesn't like Discord as a chat platform for large groups of people, I inherently feel less part of what's going on during Codeland since I don't participate in the conversations anymore. I know this is a very me centered analysis of the situation, but is a huge part of why I ended up posting to my personal blog when I do periodically write something, and only sometimes posting here afterwards.

It makes me a bit sad to reflect on this - I've had some excellent experiences through DEV (and CodeNewbies) and met some of the most incredible friends. But most (all?) of those people have moved away from DEV as far as I can tell and stopped writing, and it's led me to feel less inclined to write as well.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

This is a really helpful comment, Tyler!

I'm really sorry that being a Trusted Member put you in a position that made DEV less fun. If you're spending all this time cleaning up spam and not finding enjoyable posts to read, that wouldn't be a great experience. 😞

Something that has changed over the past 6 months is that we have another layer of defense against spam through a program that Ben created called Forem Shield. We have various folks combing through posts using this tool and help us to remove spam now. We still have the same tools for Trusted Members to fight spam, but hopefully we're getting better at proactively fighting it so that it's not the primary thing that Trusted Members have to deal with anymore. This is something that we've been working on for about the past 6 months and I hope it's having a positive effect. I'd like for our Trusted Members to be able to put more focus on reading posts and helping the community than fighting spam; I need to work on making this all clearer.

But also, I understand that you have other concerns. On the note of us removing Connect, I do feel like this is a pretty big loss that we haven't been able to easily replace with Discord. And, you're absolutely right that we have had some great members of the community move on... I'd really like to try and think of a way to bring folks back, even if they can't be here all the time, perhaps just for a temporary reunion. I'll have to think about how we might approach something like this. 🤔

All in all, I really appreciate your and DeChamp's candidness here. We really want to preserve the things that made DEV good for you both. Gonna give this some serious though and share y'all's points with the team.

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

Something I've consistently loved about DEV is that the Team is so active on the platform (and in a positive way unlike some other platforms' teams) 🥰

And like I said in the initial post - I think the Trusted Member experience was the least influential part of my experience, I just know it lined up well with my experience, so it felt disingenuous to leave it out.

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Hey, thanks very much for your kind words! 😀

Also, I def want ya feeling comfortable expressing these feelings without you having to worry about how it might affect our feelings... I read this and react because I wanna continue to improve things, but I definitely don't see it and think oh I have to defend against this. Your message was very thoughtful and honest to your personal experience, and I can def understand where ya are coming from. It is seriously very helpful feedback.

Thread Thread
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

I'm glad you read the message as a sign of reaching out and not complaining. I tried really hard to make it a constructive comment for us all to discuss and talk through. I'm glad it's working. Pat yourself on the back for taking the effort to keep us answered.

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Thanks so much for this message. 💚 I totally know y'all mean well here... y'all are both fantastic DEV community members that have been here a good long time. And while I know we can't turn back the wheels of time, this is really helpful feedback for giving us a sense of things we need to work on to rekindle the spark that drew y'all in in the first place.

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

Thank you for posting your thoughts on this. I appreciated reading it. It's nice to know the feeling is not just mine alone. It's also nice to see the dev. to staff take notice and leave comment. Maybe it'll spark change but perhaps things will remain as they are and we may have to learn to adapt or find new grounds. Either way, i wish you well on your journey. I'll give you a follow.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I don't have a great answer here right now, but just wanted to acknowledge your post and say this is something I believe we would very much like to figure out. We don't want folks getting lost in the sea of posts here and we need to continue thinking through how to solve this one.

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

I appreciate you responding, that makes me feel seen right there! I do have to say that the people that work on the dev.to site kind and supportive. It's much appreciated.

Collapse
 
fnh profile image
Fabian Holzer

SEO spam is certainly a huge problem. But maybe it is only the tip of the iceber. I am under the impression that a lot of content isn't posted in the first place with the intention that a community engages with it in a meaningful sense (at least beyond rather shallow metrics as number of readers and likes).