DEV Community

Cover image for Are we close enough as a community to help each other out in hard times? (YES! WE ARE!)
DeChamp
DeChamp

Posted on

Are we close enough as a community to help each other out in hard times? (YES! WE ARE!)

So I have a question for you all.

Are we close enough that if we ask each other for support with hard times in our personal lives, it would be welcomed?

I ask because I'm there. My family is struggling. My son is sick and it's serious.

Do I reach out to all of you and ask for your support and prayers? Is that ok?

Do I post a gofundme that my sister created, and that be something that is looked at and welcomed? Or is it looked at as "who cares, why should we help?", "that's tacky", "why should we trust you to use the money for him?".

I have a hard time asking for help but my kid is sick and I'll do anything for my kids. So where do I stand with this community?

Am I welcomed to share my burdens or should I stick to myself, and only provide you with helpful post about tech?

Have I given enough of me to at least get a thoughtful consideration? It's ok if the answer is no.

Please comment and let me know your thoughts. If you do want to help our family in times of need, we need prayers. Also I do have a gofundme link if anyone wants to consider donating.

A humbled and worried father.

Geo's gofundme

The Richardsons

Geo says thank you for all the support dev.to

Geo

A Million thanks!

Top comments (32)

Collapse
 
couch3ater profile image
Connor Tangney

Are we close enough as a community...

Community.

Honestly, I think this is the magic word here.

Communities are usually built with the intention of supporting the members therein. With that in mind, I'm of the opinion that if you need some support, regardless of what that may look like, a community should be here to support you.

We are people first, tech enthusiasts second. I think we forget this sometimes.

If there is anything more we can do to lend a collaborative helping hand, please let us know. You will remain in my thoughts, and I am certainly sending good vibes your way.

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

This was so heartfelt. Thank you. I appreciate it.

Collapse
 
felipperegazio profile image
Felippe Regazio • Edited

I wish i could help, and man, if could i would. Ill pray for you and your family. You seem to be a great father. Hope your son gets better, and, at least for me, you are very welcome to share your burden.

As i read in another comment here, "We are people first". Im from another country, probably another culture, language, etc, but i agree that, no matter the situation, "We are people first".

As i said, i wish i could do something, but i cant, and that hurts me either, somehow. I dont know you, never saw you, but you are a father, im a father too, i even can imagine how worried you must be.

So, i wish you to know that ill pray for your family (and im not even a prayer guy), ill send you good feelings, and you have my support if you need to share anything or talk about how you've been feeling.

A huge hug!

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

Felippe, you have no clue how much you ARE helping me. Your compassion and kind words are a blessing to my family and I. You have me crying at work because I feel supported in this scary situation. You took time to care for a complete stranger, to let them know you're there for them. I feel your kindness and it'll be shared with my family. You helped BIG! You are willing to give a prayer even though that isn't your thing, just to help and that is just amazing. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Collapse
 
felipperegazio profile image
Felippe Regazio • Edited

Thats great. Really. You're a father, a fighter and seem to be a safe harbor to your family. Reiterate: All the best to you guys! : )

Thread Thread
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

Thank you!

Collapse
 
kspeakman profile image
Kasey Speakman • Edited

I welcome your post for help. Count me in.

To fill in some information for passers-by. Foster parents are prevented by law or policy from sharing most information about their foster children, including pictures, health conditions, etc. If for no other reason, this is why the child in the picture is wearing his spidey mask, goes by a nickname, and health details are not shared (on the gofundme page).

It is disappointing that the local agency (DHS or DHR) cannot do more to cover the costs of care. But it is not surprising.

And lastly, thank you for being a foster parent. Hang in there.

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

You nailed it. Thank you for adding context. To be clear and upfront our son is blessed that he has his medical bills covered. There is so many more expenses that come from this situation and unfortunately we were not prepared for it. Thank you again. It sounds like you yourself are part of the foster community so thank you as well.

Collapse
 
kspeakman profile image
Kasey Speakman • Edited

For sure, they are usually good about covering medical procedures and doctor visits. But there can be extra equipment, supplies, room modifications, etc. that are needed but not covered when the child has extra medical conditions. It is a worthwhile thing to pitch in and help fund.

💙 🙏

Thread Thread
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

You rock, thanks again for you support.

Collapse
 
fcrozetta profile image
Fernando Crozetta

We are a community.
As Connor said:

We are people first, tech enthusiasts second. I think we forget this sometimes.

Yes, we are here to support each other (or at least, try the hardest we can). You are more than welcomed to come here and ask for help. That's why we all are here. Help, and ask for help when needed.

So where do I stand with this community?

I think you stand right here with us. You are human, just like us all.

Having trouble to ask for help, and yet doing it for your kid is a brave act!

Personally, I'll do my best to help (prayers and gofundme). I think other people here will too.

Collapse
 
super_harabeoji profile image
동무야!

It looks like your child has a catheter or Broviac. I had one of those for many years (several years of childhood cancer) I'm in my 30s now so obviously I made it.

Children are resilient, I was, and many of my childhood friends were too. If you're there with your child and remind them they are not alone, then the pain (medicine, therapy, treatment etc) is temporary but the feeling of "I'm safe" will stay with them.

It wasn't the toys, or other things that the hospital used to help get me through my treatments that I remember, it was my family staying beside me, taking shifts throughout it all.

My thoughts are with you and your family. Godspeed!

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

This is beautiful and I appreciate those words do wisdoms. It’s the heart that pays forward the most. I’m glad you made it and your here to share your words. Thank you so much.

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

I'm overwhelmed by the support. I'm tearing up at work. Thank you.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I'll donate to the GoFundMe as soon as I get home!

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

Thank you! My family thanks you.

Collapse
 
yashints profile image
Yaser Adel Mehraban

It takes a lot of courage to share personal stories in public, I admire that about you man, and I pray for you and your family to pass these days and get back to be a healthy, happy, and prosperous family. I hope the positive energy that I have right now will get there and you feel it too 😌

Keep it up mate 💪🏽🙌🏽

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

Thank you so much. The prayers are working. He’s healing. He’s got a long long road but he’s on his way.

Collapse
 
thefern profile image
Fernando B 🚀

I did a small donation but hoping it helps. Stay strong for your son, as a father I know is hard sometimes.

All the best for your son, and family.

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

Seriously thank you so much. Every single thing is so important to us. You’re moving mountains.

Collapse
 
nshoes profile image
Nate Shoemaker

Yes.

Praying for your son and family.

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

thank you Nate.

Collapse
 
danielsiefert profile image
Dan Siefert

Sending good vibes, really hope everything turns out ok.

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

Thank you. He's doing ok today. He's had a really rough week but he's had a good day today.

Collapse
 
dzhavat profile image
Dzhavat Ushev

I pray for your family. I have two kids myself and can relate to your feelings of love, compassion and care. Hope Geo gets better and comes back home soon.

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

Thank you so very much.

Collapse
 
bradwellsb profile image
Bradley Wells

Praying for your son, right now.

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

thank you!

Collapse
 
grepliz profile image
Liz Lam

Prayers to Geo and his family.

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

Thank you.

Collapse
 
lautarolobo profile image
Lautaro Lobo

Best of luck. I really mean it. From the bottom of my heart. I know when it comes to kids, there are no words to express the fear that we feel. Stay strong, you'll get through it <3 <3

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

Thank you. I appreciate it. You are right with that.