DEV Community

DeChamp
DeChamp

Posted on

What tech have you used in the last few weeks?

So I just realized how many different tech stacks (for lack of a better word) I've worked on in the last 2 weeks alone.

I work for a great company and we have been using a lot of current tech for our new products, while still maintaining legacy products.

In the last 2 weeks alone, here is things I've had to work with far as languages/services/processes

Php
Xdebug
Node
express (typescript)
react (typescript)
terraform
AWS

  • k8s
  • lambda
  • gateway
  • IAM
  • policy
  • role
  • dynamodb
  • ssm
  • etc... helm docker/docker-compose gitlab ci/cd kubectl ssh tls version one

I feel like I'm forgetting a few, but this list right here shows you just how many things I have to know and use often. Sure I'm stoked that I know a lot but this feels pretty heavy spread of knowledge to just have systems working together.

What is yours looking like? Don't feel like you have to list a huge list, maybe you have 1 language and you love it. That is great! it's not bragging, it's about sparking discussion.

Top comments (20)

Collapse
 
sebbdk profile image
Sebastian Vargr

Node
JavaScript
React
Angular
Typescript
Yarn
Websockets
Raspberry pi
Redux
Docker
Debian
MySQL
Mongo
Silicone molding
General Woodworking
Luthery shinanigans
Fusion 360
3D printing
Soldering?

Probably more if go into details half of these probably more hobby related tho. :D

Jumping between different things keeps them fresh for me. :)

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

I'm curious to see what you are building!

Collapse
 
sebbdk profile image
Sebastian Vargr

Lots of different things really, Ukulele, website-editor at work, various JS libraries, light staffs, glowing juggleing balls, gameboy restorations, gameboy zero, electric skateboard, mining rigs, my personal webstack, small games etc.

I am fairly anti social apart from my wife and a few friends, so spend a lot of time in my workshop. :)

Thread Thread
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

That is awesome. Feel free to share some of your projects!

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

JavaScript (vanilla), Ruby, Rails, SQL, PostgreSQL, Sublime Text 3 (I migrated back from VSCode), GitHub, iTerm, Slack, Zoom and DuckDuckGo

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

nice ! I tried to get in to Ruby and never could find interest in it. I would love to contribute to dev.to but I haven't found time to give Ruby another go.

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

I admit Ruby isn't super popular or super hip lately. It's a solid language used by many companies but it's not "trendy", so to speak.

Sometimes I think how unfortunate it is that one can't contribute knowledge and expertise because they sit on another side of a "language divide" and the we end up rewriting the same thing (here I'm talking about libraries) many times because of this.

Thread Thread
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

ya I try to avoid the trendy train. I use what feels right to me. I never really had time to play with ruby and it's not something i require in my daily life so i just never gave much time to it. I hear it's a great language though.

Thread Thread
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

I'll be super honest here: I picked up Ruby because I worked on a Rails project a few years ago. I was coming from Python and I don't think I would have learned it otherwise, it didn't make much sense to pickup Ruby while being very comfortable with Python. After a few years: I still like Rails (which to me is better than Django, to find a Python analogue) but I'm still not in love with Ruby. Python fits my brain better I guess.

The Ruby community is full of super talented and great developers and Ruby has a way better packaging system (Python is has a famously "complicated relationship" with that aspect).

Python used to be "boring" (in a great way), now that async programming and ML are everywhere it's trendy again but to me the greatest thing about it is how much it gets out of the way to let you accomplish stuff. That's also probably why a lot of Python devs learnt Go, another language with minimal syntax and not many tricks.

It's still my favorite general purpose language.

I guess I ended up talking about Python instead of Ruby :D

Collapse
 
adrianbdesigns profile image
Adrian Bece

React
Typescript
Redux
PostCSS
SCSS
Webpack
Chart.js
Anime.js
JavaScript
Yarn

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

see I knew I forgot some. Of course that scss!!! I'm gonna have to check out PostCss, haven't heard of it.

Collapse
 
adrianbdesigns profile image
Adrian Bece

PostCSS is amazing. I would recommend using the following plugins:

postcss-preset-env (Basically, Babel for CSS)
cssnano (CSS minifier and optimizer)
postcss-simple-vars (If you prefer using SASS-style variables)
postcss-mixins (Mixins in PostCSS)
postcss-nesting (also supported in postcss-preset-env, so you can skip this if you have postcss-preset-env)
lost (awesome grid plugin)

Thread Thread
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

it's funny, i've used this and didn't realize that was what it was. ha ha. Very cool

Collapse
 
alexparra profile image
Alex Parra

PHP
Laravel
Vue
React
ReactNative (learning)
Node (CLI tool with Oclif)
Sass (scss)
Git
Webpack

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

just spent last 20 minutes looking over Oclif. Looks pretty cool! What have you built with it?

Collapse
 
alexparra profile image
Alex Parra • Edited

Hey DeChamp!
A tool to transform vue I18N json files (which old multiple languages) to per language files and then upload them to Lokalise.
And the reverse, download translations from Lokalise, re-pack them to vue I18N files and putting them in place.
Used Oclif since we plan on having other commands unrelated to the above and it gives you a lot of features and structure out-of-the-box.
Also looked into vorpal but its latest commit was too old so felt it could be abandoned. Vorpal has a cool feature of running in a sub-console.
Oclif being backed by Heroku gave us confidence in it not going dead soon.
Best.

Thread Thread
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

That is awesome. Ya i'll have to get deeper in to it.

Collapse
 
mxoliver profile image
Oliver

React
Redux
Rails
Ruby
CSS
SCSS
Yarn
Javascript
GraphQL
Apollo GraphQL Client
Hasura
Git
Jest

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

what are your thoughts on GraphQL. I tinkered with it and it seems like a cool thing but didn't do much with it.

Collapse
 
mxoliver profile image
Oliver

I like it quite a bit, I have mostly used it at work but we use it in tandem with hasura (a graphQL engine) and apollo works nice with Reactjs which is my jam.