DEV Community

Gagandeep Singh
Gagandeep Singh

Posted on

How do you keep handy code snippets on local computer in readily searchable form ? what tools do you use ?

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
jjjjcccjjf profile image
endan

Hi Gagandeep!

Instead of keeping my handy code snippets in my local computer, I upload it to Github.

Here's what I'm talking about!

github.com/jjjjcccjjf/dev-cheat-sheet

I've created a dev cheat sheet for me and my team at work. Of course, everyone can also use it and contributions are open (but I haven't set up any rules about this yet though!)

And also, tools like Boostnote is a good candidate for note-taking code snippets for you and your team!

Collapse
 
deepgsingh profile image
Gagandeep Singh

Thank You for reply,

Boostnote is nice one.Great

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

I use VS Code, and if I open a specific file in a different directory, VS Code lets me open that file again, in that same directory. I've been doing this for a while and it's super helpful.

Here's a gif example:
test

Collapse
 
decs_dapp profile image
DECS

Not sure if you have found a useful tool yet.

Try our DECS decentralized application, an all-in-one workspace to manage code snippets and protect sensitive data.

Chrome extension to capture code snippets on the go.
Demo: youtube.com/watch?v=1goz6YAGI5Q

Features:
Security - End-to-end encryption
Modern UI - Search, Share and Embed
Decentralised - Own your data

FREE to use!

Collapse
 
bizzibody profile image
Ian bradbury

Dash

kapeli.com/dash

Documentation + Snippets