DEV Community

Cover image for #100DaysOfCode - Week 2 Review
Brian Bethencourt
Brian Bethencourt

Posted on

#100DaysOfCode - Week 2 Review

Hey all! I'm going to keep this review relatively short. It has been a really tough week for me. I've had a lot go on in my personal life. Everyone in my family is either suffering a health issue or some other stress factor and it has been a lot of emotional juggling for me. Though somehow, I've been able to dedicate some time each day to code.

I've paused my daily #100daysofcode updates to Twitter because that place is not very friendly to my mental health. I've instead been keeping a personal journal of my daily efforts on Obsidian and that has been going well.

While week 1 was all about the basics of CSS and the box model, week 2 has been a lot about cementing those foundations and bringing them over to Flexbox. I've had a great time learning Flex because it really empowers and motivates me to learn CSS. Once you type in display: flex, everything changes all at once before your eyes. From there, the rest of the algorithm just helps you position things where need be. It feels really straightforward and engaging and that's what I like the most.

I've been doing well on the CSS exercises, though the Flex ones are the ones I've been having the most trouble with so far. The others have mostly been a breeze. Currently working on a company landing page, hope to have that ready for you by next week's update!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Man, I'm sorry you've been having a tough time, Brian. Sending good vibes and lots of love to you and your family!

It's cool to hear about the immediacy of CSS... sounds really rewarding. I'm sure it'll have its tedious side too, haha, but pretty rad that you're getting the hang of it!

In any case, I'm looking forward to seeing the landing page you're developing!

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

Aww, Brian. I'm sorry you've had such a difficult time. I know things will definitely look up.
Way to go on the progress you've made so far! It's very good.

I totally feel you on what you said about twitter. I agree. Perhaps try a different social network like LinkedIn?

Collapse
 
rachelfazio profile image
Rachel Fazio

Brian! I am so sorry to hear this. Wishing you and your family lots of love right now, miss you!!!!!

Happy to hear you are working on a company landing page, I am excited to see that!