DEV Community

Cover image for Are you stuck in Tutorial hell?
Devesh🚀
Devesh🚀

Posted on

Are you stuck in Tutorial hell?

If you are then you are not alone. Every new developer goes through it so it's completely normal. I would like to share how I came out of tutorial hell.

I used to get ideas for creating web apps but didn't know how to implement them and used to search for some tutorials and code along with it, this is when I got stuck in tutorial hell.

I created a lot of projects only by watching tutorials without gaining any actual knowledge. I was totally dependent on youtube channels like traversy media, web dev simplified, florinpop, and many more. I just copy-pasted their code. This is the worst you could do.

  • I would like to tell you that it's totally fine watching tutorials but after watching and creating the app try implementing something of your own in the app, try and customize the app, play with the colors, take some effort to make it our own.

  • Also after creating the app try creating a clone of it without watching the tutorial and change the complete UI, use your own imagination, and see how much you have learned watching the tutorial, you would really see the difference.

  • After you get comfortable with the language I would suggest you clone the app before watching the tutorial, it would be a good challenge and it would boost your energy and improve your skills too.🚀

  • If you want ideas for your next project leverage GitHub and look through people's code, you'll definitely get a new idea and also learn conventions and practices to write clean code.

I hope this helped you and you'll take necessary actions and also make sure to help others by sharing the article🔥. You can follow me on Twitter, where I post about web development and similar content Deveshb15

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
aahnik profile image
Aahnik Daw

I don't believe in the academic way of doing things.

Tutorials and curriculums and bootcamps. All these are great. But something is even better.

What is that something ?

When you have an idea. A vision to build something. You don't know exactly how to do it. But you feel that it's possible. You explore google/stack overflow/articles/videos. Just to get the solution. You build a complex piece of shit. Step by Step. Any thing that is complex, must first have a simple version. A really useful piece of software evolves from a minimal prototype.

This is the way actual learning happens.

Collapse
 
deveshb15 profile image
Devesh🚀

Great point Aahnik!💯