DEV Community

Cover image for Crack the Code: Can Anybody Learn?
dev.to staff for The DEV Team

Posted on

Crack the Code: Can Anybody Learn?

What challenges or successes did you experience while learning to code? What advice would you give to aspiring developers based on your experiences?


Follow the DEVteam for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
keep_calm_and_code_on profile image
Alex Lau

This question is very near and dear to my heart since I'm working on a book and blog series about mistakes I've made in my software development career and how I've learned from them.

There are a LOT of challenges I could talk about, but probably the biggest one is being afraid to fail. I would often attempt to write too much code in isolation in attempt to make it "perfect" by code review, when in reality I think there's a lot to be said for the sheer act of getting your hands dirty by writing lots of code and learning from others as they give feedback.

Jumping in and eagerly learning is one of the fundamental concepts in my opinion since it opens the door to so many other lessons.

If these sort of topics resonate with you and you'd like to hear more lessons from my book, you can find all of the chapters outlined here.

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

[...] but probably the biggest one is being afraid to fail

So much this! I remember in my college classes there were so many people that were afraid of seeing an error message, but learning to read the error message and understand it is a critical part of debugging. By being willing to click "Run Code" and understand the error messages I was able to learn things much quicker!

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.