DEV Community

Cover image for Gratitude Practices: Positive Effects on Health?
dev.to staff for The DEV Team

Posted on

Gratitude Practices: Positive Effects on Health?

How has practicing gratitude positively affected your health, and what gratitude rituals do you plan to adopt or enhance in the coming year?


Follow the DEVteam for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
marmariadev profile image
Maria M.

Personally, I've seen a significant improvement in my life quality since I started focusing on gratitude. This year, my goal is to write down three things I'm grateful for each night before bed. I strongly believe that cultivating gratitude can have a transformative effect on our health and overall well-being.

Collapse
 
prsaya profile image
Prasad Saya

Like empathy, love and forgiveness, gratitude is a feeling which is difficult to grasp for me. I often recollect a quote I liked, by Jean-Baptiste Massieu - "Gratitude is the memory of the heart" (again, "heart" has a special meaning in this quote).

Collapse
 
yogini16 profile image
yogini16

Glad that you brought up this topic.
After my yoga class, my teacher leads a gratitude prayer that deeply relaxes and uplifts me. It infuses each day with positive energy.
By day's end, it's essential to take at least a minute to practice gratitude, acknowledging all the blessings received throughout the day and expressing thanks to those who assisted us, including our parents.