DEV Community

Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on

Happy Pi Day β€” Share Your Favorite Raspberry Pi Projects & Posts! πŸ₯§

In honor of this year's Pi Day, March 14th (aka 3-14), I'd like for everybody to share an interesting Raspberry Pi-focused project or post in the comments section below!

It can be something you created or wrote, but it doesn't have to be! If it's someone else's project or post, just make sure to give them credit... and if they have a DEV account, consider @mentioning them.

A shot from Rebecca Black's "Friday" song. You can see Rebecca in the car singing and the subtitles below her read "It's Pi Day, Pi Day"

Note: If you plan to link to something, you might consider embedding it instead. For instance, you can embed a YouTube video or link to another DEV post using the following syntax {% embed https://... %}.

Top comments (17)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

My friend created this really cool art piece with a Raspberry Pi

inner vision

More info on the piece

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Love this one!! πŸ™Œ

Collapse
 
lnahrf profile image
Lev Nahar

I built a radio based irrigation system for my wife's upstairs garden using a Raspberry Pi ZW and a couple of ESP32s (written in C++). It was possible to water the upstairs garden at the click of a button, or schedule a daily/weekly/monthly automatic irrigation schedule. It was pretty cool! Too bad I abandoned the project because I did not have time to maintain it.

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

That's pretty cool. Too bad indeed!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Dang! That sounds so dope, Lev.

I'd love to create something like that for wife, Katelyn. I got a Raspberry Pi 2 that's kinda just collecting dust right now.

Katelyn has loads of plants and I'd love to find some kinda use for the Pi for her gardening. She has a little greenhouse outdoors and recently it got way too warm and essentially murdered her plants... I'm thinking maybe I should set up some sort of temp/humidity gauge to send a message to her if it goes outside of a certain range.

I haven't looked that hard yet, but I bet there are projects with instructions out there that I could follow.

Collapse
 
lnahrf profile image
Lev Nahar

That sounds great! You could also set up a 5v fan that will turn on and cool the area once it gets too hot, and turn off when temperature returns to normal. It’s simpler than you think :)

Collapse
 
balagmadhu profile image
Bala Madhusoodhanan

did the magic mirror few years back...

the Git Repo was MagicMirror
Mirror

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Wow! I'd never heard of this. Just looked it up and found this video that's pretty cool!

I might have to try this out... πŸ€”

Collapse
 
balagmadhu profile image
Bala Madhusoodhanan

it was a cool project.. My API were weather and TFL tube updates :-)...

During house move had to box it and not used it at all..

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I'm just about to start building a house and I wanna do a lot of smart home sorta stuff. This would be so cool! I genuinely might have to try it.

Thread Thread
 
balagmadhu profile image
Bala Madhusoodhanan

I am one ask away for help if you need. Would be good to brush up my Magic Mirror work !!.. Good luck @michaeltharrington .. Looking forward for your fun project update

Collapse
 
peiche profile image
Paul

Several years ago, I created voice-activated lights with a Raspberry Pi for my disabled daughter, who couldn't reach the light switch. As a first attempt, it wasn't bad.

Image description

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Thanks so much for sharing! I loved checking out your post and accompanying video. What a great project!

Collapse
 
chris_hoover-tgf619 profile image
Chris Hoover

Oh crap I forgot I’ve been waiting KIC hell since couple days ago with pie they just finally popped me through. I need to go check my account really fast and I’ve been spending a lot of time buying inventory or stock on OpenSea for this crypto mining adventure called crop bites, so get a lot of stuff on there for latch cheaper than they can off their site and you can avoid the ginormous ethereal markup.

Collapse
 
mainarthur profile image
Arthur Kh

My favorite fact about Pi number is:
245850922/78256779 === Math.PI is true in JS, so it's a rational number for js :D

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

OOo that's awesome, Arthur. Appreciate ya chiming in with that little factoid!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

A few months back I stumbled on this cool project for building a music streamer with a raspi... check it out!