DEV Community

Cover image for How Can You Move Beyond Traditional Definitions of Success?
dev.to staff for The DEV Team

Posted on

How Can You Move Beyond Traditional Definitions of Success?

What does success mean to you personally, and how do you measure it outside of societal norms? Let's discuss alternative definitions of success and how they shape our lives and aspirations.
Follow the DEVteam for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
anmolbaranwal profile image
Anmol Baranwal • Edited

For others: Success equals money, even if they deny it.
Trust me, I've seen enough to know that.

For me: Success equals flexibility multiplied by the value that I create.

I would prefer earning less and having some extra time.
The time to learn and work on myself, and to spend time at home.
Little boredom, free calendars and lots of fun.
That is what success will mean to me.

Of course, money is important.
It might be the most important thing in life.
As long as you know what to buy with it.

For the past years of my life, I've done things without expecting anything in return.
Why? You can read The best piece of advice I ever received

I believe that working hard on ourselves will get us ahead, even if we're very behind for a few years.
It is actually very hard to go against society, especially if you are nothing. So, best of luck :)

It's your life. Live it however you want to. Your success doesn't need to be appreciated by others.

Collapse
 
peterwitham profile image
Peter Witham

For me, success is defined by the following in no particular order.

  • I am proud of what I have shipped
  • I see folks using it (whatever that may look like)
  • I stretched myself and learned something new from it
  • Sure, if it's something with a financial value attached, I'd like to see returns, but that applies to a small fraction of what I make and ship.

TL;DR: it's all about personal growth and satisfaction for the most part. That motivates me to move onto the next thing.

Collapse
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

For me, it would be when I retire to determine if I was successful.