DEV Community

Cover image for How Crucial is Your LinkedIn Profile?
dev.to staff for The DEV Team

Posted on

How Crucial is Your LinkedIn Profile?

How has LinkedIn impacted your professional connections and job opportunities? Share tips on leveraging this platform effectively.


Follow the DEVteam for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (17)

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

This is how seriously I take LinkedIn:

A set of linkedin skills, including Dexterity, Constitution, Strength, Wisdom, Intelligence, and Charisma

Collapse
 
fyodorio profile image
Fyodor

LOL, I like the endorsements-driven distribution 😂 you need more strength though, to bear the load of the modern web frameworks ecosystem 🤣

Collapse
 
hedanielld profile image
Hubert Daniell

I have a love/hate relationship with LinkedIn. The more and more I use it the more it seems like a big resume pool for recruiters and that's it. As of right now the only promising way to get an interview right now is to know someone.

It's become an essential part of networking and skill showing though.

Collapse
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

I have to agree. One of the things I am working on is my networking skills. I feel that 10 minute convo should be enough to dictate the next steps with a person.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I don't think it matters that much, but I wouldn't go without it. It's a "check the box" kind of thing.

Collapse
 
anmolbaranwal profile image
Anmol Baranwal

The way we can't live without Google, the same goes for having a LinkedIn profile; it's important for professional network.

Considering the majority :D

Collapse
 
ingosteinke profile image
Ingo Steinke

Good point. I'd love to live in a world where that kind of service was provided by non-profit open-source solutions instead of commercial companies in the USA, but hey, that's still better than state-run commercial companies in China that produce all the networking hardware the modern world can't live without.

But LinkedIn is more of a nice-to-have addition than Google's many services. I know many people who don't even have a LinkedIn profile.

Collapse
 
anmolbaranwal profile image
Anmol Baranwal

Yeah! I've met Angel Investors with no LinkedIn profile!

It's optional, but it is mostly true in most scenarios. At least, that is what I believe.

Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis

I think it's an important tool for getting yourself seen, You can share more on it than a standard resume.

If you haven't seen Danny Thompson's Free LinkedIn Learning class on profiles watch it. Great advice on what to put on the profile.

Why use LinkedIn to get you a job - LinkedIn Video Tutorial | LinkedIn Learning, formerly Lynda.com

Join Danny Thompson for an in-depth discussion in this video, Why use LinkedIn to get you a job, part of LinkedIn Profiles for Technical Professionals.

favicon linkedin.com
Collapse
 
zainmuhammad profile image
Zain Muhammad • Edited

How seriously I approach LinkedIn:

Image description

Image description

Image description

Image description

Image description

Image description

zain-muhammad.github.io/
linkedin.com/in/zain-sher/

linkedin

dev.to

TechTrends

CareerGrowth

ProfessionalNetworking

InnovationLeadership

DigitalTransformation

PersonalBranding

IndustryInsights

SkillDevelopment

WorkplaceCulture

FutureOfWork

Collapse
 
magesh profile image
Magesh

At first, I never liked LinkedIn (for its design mostly). Later, I realized it is an amazing platform to make a lot of connections and also stay in touch with them. Most of the posts I've written there have got better reach than any other platform like Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram. It's easier to grow your network on LinkedIn than other platforms I think. For jobs, if you can connect with many people and make conversations then it shouldn't be that difficult.

Collapse
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

Not very, considering I don't use it often...

I primarily use my website and GitHub.

Collapse
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

Like you, I really don't use LinkedIn. I'm in process of rebuilding my portfolio. I'll be using GitHub, Dev.To and a file storage service as I can do more with them versus LinkedIn. Also, I don't need all that extra stuff that comes from LinkedIn.

Collapse
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

They give me spam emails periodically; I'd say no one needs the 'extra stuff' LinkedIn gives.  :þ

Collapse
 
dsarkar profile image
Debajit Sarkar

In my country (India), it is not very important to have a well maintained LinkedIn profile. Most people get jobs through referral, word-of-mouth, or personal connections. Therefore, having a strong online presence is not as essential as having a good reputation and network in the industry. Nonetheless, I try to maintain an up to date LinkedIn profile

Collapse
 
peiche profile image
Paul

lol

Collapse
 
tuannguyenminh profile image
Minh Tuan Nguyen

I use Linkedin for my professional personal page as well as searching for candidates. It's good for creating relationships and connections, but I find it a bit boring when using it