DEV Community

Cover image for Sloan's Inbox: How Do I Achieve a Four-Day Work Week?

Sloan's Inbox: How Do I Achieve a Four-Day Work Week?

Hey folks! Sloan, DEV Moderator and mascot. I'm back with another question submitted by a DEV community member. 🦥

For those unfamiliar with the series, this is another installment of Sloan's Inbox. You all send in your questions, I ask them on your behalf anonymously, and the community leaves comments to offer advice. Whether it's career development, office politics, industry trends, or improving technical skills, we cover all sorts of topics here. If you want to send in a question or talking point to be shared anonymously via Sloan, that'd be great; just scroll down to the bottom of the post for details on how.

Let's see what's up this week...

Today's question is:

As I continue to grow as a dev, I realize just how important my personal time is to me. While I like the leadership and the stability of the company I'm at, I really want to progress to a place where I'm able to work a 4-day work week. I'm wondering, how attainable is this? Do we seem to be moving this way culturally? Are other devs here in the community working on this type of schedule? Should I try to convince my workplace to offer this or have others tried to do so? Do I need to become a freelancer, contractor, or run my own business to achieve this? Thanks for any advice!

Share your thoughts and let's help a fellow DEV member out! Remember to keep kind and stay classy. 💚


Want to submit a question for discussion or ask for advice? Visit Sloan's Inbox! You can choose to remain anonymous.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
grimkillingbeck profile image
GrimKillingbeck

I think this depends on a few things OP:

  • How long have you been working at the company?
  • Have you been completing work earlier/at stated deadlines?

These things matter because if the company sees that you can do all your work within your allotted time, then really there should be no problem with a 4 day work schedule.

At my last company, I just simply asked if there happens to be schedule availability, to please think of me for a 4 day work week schedule. It happened a few weeks later.

If they say no, then you may have to think about contract work or start doing dev jobs on the side to build your freelance clientele.